Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-02-2009, 05:56 PM   #1
paldav
Subscriber
 
paldav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: north west england
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default display squashing verticaly

Im using a ati fire gl v5100 workstation card with catalyst driver,

the modeling windows in maya are squashing everything verticaly

this means i cant get a proper handle on the proportions, i will post 2 images to illustrate, the model facing upwards is squashed.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
free memory low..exception thrown
paldav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2009, 05:57 PM   #2
paldav
Subscriber
 
paldav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: north west england
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

same model facing other way
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
free memory low..exception thrown
paldav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2009, 04:45 AM   #3
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I'm either crazy or blind, but I don't see the problem...
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2009, 08:08 AM   #4
paldav
Subscriber
 
paldav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: north west england
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

To my eyes the top one is wide and stubby, turn it to the side and it is less wide and longer..?
__________________
free memory low..exception thrown
paldav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2009, 07:28 PM   #5
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Hmm... I don't really see it
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 03:15 AM   #6
paldav
Subscriber
 
paldav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: north west england
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

One of us is deffinately crazy, maybe we both are!
__________________
free memory low..exception thrown
paldav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 05:08 AM   #7
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I overlayed them.... They are the same, haha
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 01:56 PM   #8
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

As a web developer I use a tool called screen calipers...

both pictures are exactly the same... size in height and width, sounds like a driver issues...

I get an issue with mine where the screen goes a bit "wierd" and i need to minimise and maximise the screen
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2009, 06:20 PM   #9
paldav
Subscriber
 
paldav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: north west england
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thank you for your help guys, ive found out that with my card and some more expensive ones that when working with 3d apps ( presumably with open gl ) if the screen resolution is not exactly derivable to 64 in height and width they can give problems!!

makes you wonder why they charge us extra for work station cards.
__________________
free memory low..exception thrown
paldav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2009, 06:38 PM   #10
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Especially when u really dont need them...
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2009, 06:45 PM   #11
paldav
Subscriber
 
paldav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: north west england
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I really mustmake sure my mate doesnt see that post or i will never hear the end of it!

arnt we supposed to get better math co processing with a work station card as opposed to just endless texturing pipelines?
__________________
free memory low..exception thrown
paldav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2009, 07:06 PM   #12
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

You can mod a standard card to work like a workstation card... Theres a well documented process to do it.. But its done at your own risk.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.