Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-08-2008, 09:00 AM   #16
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by hammer.horror
fn + left arrow
Yeah, but that just does what the home button does, so it's just easier to hit the home button.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 09:05 AM   #17
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Mad as a box of frogs! So many combinations!!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 12:53 PM   #18
stonemason
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yup, and the D-key is only a toggle, which is okay too.

Pressing the D-key momentarily switches to the pivot reposition function, but returns to normal as soon as you let go of the D-key. It's great for fine-tuning the position of the pivot without having to let go of the mouse to invoke the Home key or move your left hand from its home position and reach across the keyboard.

Some keystroke combinations make you go, "what?" don't they? We pride ourselves on faster computers with greater capacities, enabling larger tasks but lose the time saved — and then some— performing inferior routines.

But I certainly don't waste time lamenting the fact that my keyboard has NEVER had a Print Screen function key. Nor would I call Apple to ask if my keyboard had an Insert key when every thread of my being tells me there isn't one!

Windows PC have their priorities straight, that's for sure. I'm envious they have a key devoted to the task of screen dumps!

Yo! Dubai, Maya tech support is your friend. But as soon as you tell them your a Mac you get the phone equivalent of the thousand-meter stare and you'll swear the line went dead. Just assure them, your not here to complicate their lives, or give them an aneurism.

If you have any more Mac-related questions, feel free to pm me.
stonemason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 06:42 PM   #19
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

tanks guys for the replay. I am modeling huge building architecture, windows, doors, bricks. glass, bla bla,,,,,
I did mistakes , I delete the history of the object, now i have trouble to rotate them as default way, it is centered to the object but not align to the object, it is bite hard to rotate/scale the object , I tried every way, but didn't change at all, also I cant get back to the step one, I cant model all the stuff again.

so i am in bite hard situation.
I tried
center pivot
freez trans
hit D and move the pivot to the corner or center of the object and than scale it,(it is helps) but I have nearly 2000
object(city) in my scene, so I can not go through every single object and center the pivot to the edge or corner of the object to scale it,
that must be some way,
remember the history has been deleted,

any idee?
Attached Thumbnails
 
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 08:00 PM   #20
amoeba
Registered User
 
amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Why not group them all together, and then scale them all at once?
__________________
W.I.P's
-
Finished work
Mech
amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 08:49 PM   #21
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

let me try. that is not bad idee?
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 02:03 PM   #22
Doart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Genious

Originally Posted by Jr.Who View Post
The "d" key is the key to move around the pivot point on the Mac.
Thank you, been ages to figure this one out....

Best, D
Doart is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.