Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-03-2004, 02:26 PM   #1
jam_ed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default beginner question mental ray -animation

How can I make an animation with the mental ray renderer? I can't select AVI on the mental ray render global settings....so is there another way?
jam_ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2004, 02:44 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

render as tiffs and then put them together in an app like after effects, premier or the free one that is kicking around. Check the sticky at the top of this forum it has something aboot rendering movies.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2004, 02:50 PM   #3
jam_ed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks I'll try that.
Is there an explanation why I can't select .avi on the mental ray render globals?
jam_ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2004, 02:53 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

mental ray doesnt support it? I dont know mate, rendring to an avi from maya is a bad idea anyway. I always go out as tiffs and then bring them back together. Why I hear you ask: Because lets say you render it out and your compression is crappy and you'd like to up it a bit.... if you have rendered as a movie you're screwed. Because you'd have to re-render it again. If you do it as tiffs then all you have to do is launch premier and fire it back out again at a different compression. There is also the argument that you end up with enough artifacts in your renders as is, why introduce more at the rendering stage by using compression?

Hope that answers your question.


Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2004, 02:56 PM   #5
jam_ed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

editsorry doublepost
jam_ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2004, 02:58 PM   #6
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mental ray doesnt support it.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.