Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-04-2004, 02:25 PM   #1
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking I need a wireless 3-button mouse

Hello all,

Is there such a thing as a wireless 3-button mouse and if there is where can I purchase one?


I really appreciate it!!



-Your friend in MAYA,



SuperDave71
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 03:03 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

sure ...I am using one right now ....any good hardware retailer should stock one....I would advise you get a rechargeable version though, mine is battery and it uses two AA types every two weeks.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 03:05 PM   #3
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking Thank you

What is the make and brand name? I would love to find one!!

Thank you so much for teh post by the way




-SuperDave71
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 03:07 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I bought a wireless mouse with a scroll button and I figured I could use it the same as I do with my current scroll mouse... as in pushing the wheel acts as a middle mouse. but nooooo... darn thing had all the options in the world for the middle mouse button, EXCEPT as an ACTUAL middle mouse button! How dumb is that?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 03:12 PM   #5
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

mine is a logitech cordless optical mouse and with the software loaded I get the middle button option and the beauty of it is I still get the scroll too
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 03:21 PM   #6
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking I did teh same thing Mike

Mike,



Don't feel so bad......I did the SAME THING. I bought the Microsoft Optical 2.0 with wheel and tilt and all sorts of other stuff. I saw a fix on Microsoft today so I can use the middle wheel yet I haven't tried it yet.



Let me know if this is the same one you have. I can post the fix if necessary



-Thanks agagin fir you guys posts. I really appreciate it



-SuperDave71
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 04:12 PM   #7
tdan
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Re:

"darn thing had all the options in the world for the middle mouse button, EXCEPT as an ACTUAL middle mouse button! How dumb is that?"

Intellimouse, huh? Try setting the middle mouse button to "Autoscroll" This is what the "old" intellimouse used to default to and Maya seems to interpret that as MM click.

Dan
tdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 04:17 PM   #8
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking I couldn't agree more

I couldn't agree more.


According to Microsoft they say the following about the IntelliPoint 5.0.


1. Click Start

2. Go to Settings to Control Panel

3. Click Mouse

4. On teh buttons tab, in the wheel button list, select Auto scroll

5. Click ok.




I sure hope this works. I will indeed try in when I get home today.


Thanks for the advice and the update!!!



-Your friend,


SuperDave71
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2004, 02:29 PM   #9
imeepmeep
Registered User
 
imeepmeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Either the Logitech MX 700 or
Kensington StudioMouse Pro

are good wireless mice with rechargeable batteries via base station.

the kensington has a scroll strip instead of wheel, it's weird... still has middle button tho, behind scroll strip.
imeepmeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2004, 03:16 PM   #10
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I use a Logitech MX700 for when I'm at my desk (I have laptops). Best mouse I've ever used. Comfortable, fast fast fast tracking, and the drivers are solid.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2004, 04:06 PM   #11
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking Thanks again to Everyone...

Thanks to everyone and their post


I tried the wireless mouse I had with a scrollbar and it works!!!!

(Microsoft Intellipoint 5.0)


I went to microsoft and found the correct way to configure it.

Again, I appreciate it very much!!!!!!




Simply Maya AGAIN comes through!!!



HAHHAHA



-SuperDAve71
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.