Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-04-2004, 08:13 PM   #1
krispee
Registered User
 
krispee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default seeing files in viewport

Hi
ok, this may be an old hat question but please bare with me i`m a newbie with maya.........
i`m trying to set up a virtual studio scene so i can model a head using reference assigned to 2 planes, side and front views. now i`ve created 2 poly planes and then created new materials and imported a file(my reference) to the material so it shows up in the editor(material sample) and then assigned the material to the respective planes(dragged and dropped from hypershade) and then added both planes to a new layer - i was told this was a good idea.
my problem is that i can`t see my reference files in the viewports.....and try as i might i can`t get them to show.

please could you help me....

krispee
krispee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2004, 10:36 PM   #2
owmyi
Registered User
 
owmyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere out there.
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Press 6 on your keyboard.
owmyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2004, 04:55 PM   #3
krispee
Registered User
 
krispee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

see, i knew it would be something simple like that.....
thankyou owmyi

krispee
krispee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2004, 06:17 PM   #4
Zyk0tiK
Registered User
 
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hehe the simple things are usually the biggest bastards to figure out
Zyk0tiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2004, 04:23 PM   #5
krispee
Registered User
 
krispee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, aint that the truth
krispee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2009, 08:10 PM   #6
Jo Wand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, What if 6 doesn't fix it? I'm stuck here. Cant see my images on the reference planes.....
__________________
www.jowand.com
Jo Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 10:28 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hey Jo,

Hows tricks?

Not too sure what you mean, if you make a file texture and then assign it to a lambers and then to the material it should show up no probs with 6, unless theres a problem wth the GFX card, or its an image that maya dosent like.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 10:38 AM   #8
Jo Wand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey! Its got to see your name pop up! I'm studying 3D animation now at Hertfordshire Uni.... So I guess I'll be hanging about in here a bit more again!! We are actually learning max and maya at the same time with allot more support for max.... Im more keen to learn Maya though.... Most of them think i'm mad!

Erm, I've kind of fixed my problem. I went to viewport> renderer> High quality rendering. So now i can see the images on my reference planes, but I cant use back face culling. Its a bit anoying as I have to put the reference images quite far away which is no good for the perspective view. At least I can use the orthographic views though.......
__________________
www.jowand.com
Jo Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 10:45 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Sounds good Jo, hope its fun!

I always stick the images on a nurbs plane with a lambert assigned with a file texture, with the plane sized to the image eg. if its an image thats 1000 X 1200 the plane will be 10 X 12, once everythings there (side, front etc) group, add to a layer then scale to suit, you can then make the layer a template so you can select it.

You can then go to the lambert and then in hardware texturing upp the quality to highest to get a better view.

Never had a problem, works great
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 10:57 AM   #10
Jo Wand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I'll try upping the hardware texturing on the lambert.....
__________________
www.jowand.com
Jo Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 11:00 AM   #11
Jo Wand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow, oh dear, That just makes it so pixilated that you cant see what the picture is! God to know its there to fiddle with though...
__________________
www.jowand.com
Jo Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 06:41 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Strange it should make it clearer as its forcing maya to up the texture display resolution.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2016, 03:52 AM   #13
Subin Jp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

LOl haha Simple solution biggest problem.
Subin Jp is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.