Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-07-2004, 03:02 AM   #1
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Exporting as md3's.....and/or: what are tags?

Hullo-

I was wondering if anyone has any ideas on exporting Maya 6.0 (or Maya 5.0, if necessary) models and animations as MD3 files. (I don't know a ton about md3 file format, but, as an example, that's what was used for quake3).

I've downloaded the md3 plugin fromquake rally and it seems to load alright, but I just can't get it to work.
The best result i've had so far is a one-liner text file that essentially says "frames: 10 and model: 0", or it just tells me it can't find the operation.
I tried downloading the source code as well, but I don't know enough (or anything, I suppose) about programming to do anything productive.

I know I should be triangulating the model and baking the vertices, which I have done.
I also keep finding references to "tags" used to label the three portions of the model (head, upper, & legs) but I don't know how or what they are in Maya- I can't seem to find the term "tags" in help and I'm not sure what the equivalent would be. This 3d max tutorial kind of explains their purpose, but only describes how to make them in 3d max, of course.

Alright, well, that was kind of a long description, but hey. Thanks just for reading it (if you read it and didn't just skip to the bottom of the message hoping to find a concise question) and if you have any feedback, I'd love to hear it.
Ciao ciao.
-katie
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
Kaydray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2004, 03:22 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Well... I figured it all out at some point and all I want to say that it's a crappy, buggy and nerv burning route to go.. The exporter is buggy and has really nasty pitfalls that you can and most likely will fall into (often). When I got my working Q3 player model done I decided that I will not never ever do it again To be honest I have already forgotten most of the stuff I learned doing this.

Anyhoo, the tags are just polygon triangles, whose normals should be pointing to a direction that makes sense. The pitfall in the tag tris is that the length of sides of tris cannot be equal or the exporter will crash... yes.... sounds odd but it is true... i ran into this just by experimenting and finally debugging the source code of the exporter... <- not fun :/

Anyhoo, you can find my Q3 player model in the link in my sig...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2004, 04:16 PM   #3
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I was losing hope- glad to hear it's at least possible, if only barely. I'll have to keep messing around with it, I guess. *sigh* Why couldn't it just be easy? No pain, no gain, I guess.
I might keep bugging you (no pun intended...) with questions as they arise, if that's alright.

The model looks great, btw! I love the skins and the death animations.
-katie
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
Kaydray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2004, 04:13 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I found that clearing my history before exporting works ok for me.... at times
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2004, 07:59 PM   #5
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, probably a good idea!

related question: I've heard it's easier to export from 3ds max...is this true? If i could get find someone with a copy that i could use, would it be easier to bring the model to 3ds, do the animation there, and then export?
granted, i don't know how to use 3ds...

-katie
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
Kaydray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2004, 03:53 PM   #6
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

...*breathes deeply and tries counting to ten to calm down*....

1....
2....
3....
4....
5....




AAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGhhhhhhhhhhh!
(in Gollum voice...)
Nasty, nasty little exporter.
We hates it!
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
Kaydray is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.