Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-08-2004, 10:22 PM   #1
Winter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Sub-D binding

Hi.
I'm just now learning how to use Sub-D's. I was wondering what you do once you're done modeling. Do you convert it back to pollygons? 'Cuase I tried that and ended up with a really high res piece. Or do you bind the sub-D's directly to the skeleton somehow?
Someone told me Sub-D's automatically make a low res dummy piece you're sopposed to use to bind. Is that true? What if i accidently deleted that piece?

I'd really appreciate any good free tutorials anyone knows about using Sub-D. I've read the maya help files and experimented with them on my own but that's about it so far.
Does anyone know of any good books that would teach about sub-D modeling?
Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:48 PM   #2
Sav1989
Registered User
 
Sav1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

to go back to the original poly, go to
convert > subD to Poly > option box
there select tesselation method = vertices
and set level 0; and share uvs...

so there ull come back to the original poly figure..

i dont know any books, just using tutorials from webs... i don't use too much subD becouse im trying to get expiernced first at poly and nurbs
Sav1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 11:42 PM   #3
Winter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanx for answering!
hmmmm, when I do that, it loses the some of the detail I added in Sub-D's and it comes out looking ugly. Are sub-d's are just sopposed to be binded directly and not converted to anything else first? I'm confused...
Also, is there a way to completely remove levels of details, even after they've been altered if I decide I don't need them?
Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:02 AM   #4
Sav1989
Registered User
 
Sav1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i always heard that subd is a smooth proxy, it means u can edit it in poly mode but at the same time see the smoothed version, and i guess its supposed to look ugly im poly , try to smooth them later, and see if its like in the subd way... i never really used subd, just a little to undestand a bit...

ehm, i guess the undo key will help; theres a way of previewlization, or better sauid, smooth lvl or somehitng like this, the 1,2,3 keys; and if u go to subd attributes, u could select ur 0 level key, im not sure if that answers ur question, but maybe it helps a bit.
Sav1989 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.