Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-10-2006, 11:05 AM   #1
davis_drawings
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya and Half Life 2/ Garry's Mod 9

I'll try to make this a brief as possible but try to stay with me as I explain my problem....

Basically I've been spending a lot of time trying to make models that I can use in HL2, more specifically Garry's Mod. Now, I have found that the more popular application to use is 3DS MAX. Valve has added a plugin for Maya that comes with HL2 that imports and exports .smd files that you can use to compile your model for HL2 and Garry's Mod. After a lot of testing and chatting with others I have finally figured it out, and been able to create models within Maya that can be compiled for HL2 and Garry's Mod. So what's the problem? Well, I'll show you.


Here is an image of the Importer/Exporter:



And the Output window after it is Exported:



After the .smd has been compiled and a view of it within the HL2 model viewer:



And finally a image of it in game:




Now obviously I've added some arrows pointing at my problem. Maybe its just me, but my model is now like "inverted". Im getting a transparent face so it looks as if you can see the inside of the model and I don't know why this happens. Also, it is only the face of the model that I am facing in game. Thus if I am facing the back of the model, the back face becoms transparent. At first I figured that the compiler would be causing this, but that can't be because it compiles correctly and is able to spawn in game. Any thoughts from anyone would be helpful at this point. Thanks!
__________________
davisdryan@gmail.com
davis_drawings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2006, 03:13 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

are your normals reversed?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2006, 07:13 PM   #3
davis_drawings
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah I should of thought of that. DUH! Once again Mike you've solved my problem, and I'm sure it wont be the last. Thank you again!:attn:

davis_drawings is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.