Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-06-2007, 08:05 PM   #1
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Help with picking out..

Hey can any of you guys help me pick out a video card?


i want a video card that is really good for maya and games..

and 512 MB all of under $260


Thanks.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2007, 10:14 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If you want it to be good for maya, then look for a qualified card on Autodesks site, then again if you get one of the 7000 series Gforces that works well with maya and is good for games.

Not too sure what the prices are but Ive got the 7900 GTX 512MB card and it works great with maya, but I dont know the proce for it.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2007, 10:38 PM   #3
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Will this one be good?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102071
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2007, 11:04 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

ATI's sometimes seem the have problems with maya, have a look at the qualification charts
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 01:36 AM   #5
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks for all the help but what list? :/ can you link me? if its somthing on autodesk's site?

thanks,
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 02:03 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

http://www.alias.com/glb/eng/support...SSM44AJMK0IJVC

Heres the link, Its a list of qualified hardware. Its worth reading as a lot of "technical" problems are pretty much down to unqualified hardware/OS etc etc
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 02:25 AM   #7
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks i took a look at them but the prices were way over my bank...



a 128 mb was more then the one i was looking at(512mb)


And i don't think ATI is bad b\c i have one atm its a 128 4 - 5 years old and it runs fine on the old computer.. and i only have 512 mb or ram! lol.... that dosnt even pass the list lol....


So i think the one i am gonna get will do just fine

thanks for the help again.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 02:27 AM   #8
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

wait... is this the video card you ahve?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...MP=OTC-yah00TT


If not is this one better then the one i am lookin at?
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 02:32 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Some people have a few problems with maya and the ATI's (I have on a PC at uni with a X1300 it's horrible to work with as it flickers like mad and dosent hardware texture properly, oh and crashes if you try to have high quality rendering) Might just be the card, as another PC with dual X1900's runs fine with maya.

Ive got the Gfoece 7900 GTX 512 go card (as its in a laptop, Dell XPSM1710)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 02:43 AM   #10
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hmm... mabye i should go navida... do you mind act if you were me and pick one out under $240 you dont have to if you dont want .. but i want a 512... sorry if this is asking to much...



thanks anyways.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 10:27 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I wouldent really feel comfortable picking one, if your not getting a qualified card then it's pssible that you can have problems, to which theres no fix. I've got to say that I know that the card Ive got works fine so I would say a Gforce 7900 GTX, but that is just personal prefference (I never play games on my PC so Icouldent say how good it is for that, although ive heard that its good.)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 12:40 PM   #12
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I used to only ever run Nvidia cards the but fairly recently got myself an ATI Radeon X1900 (crossfire edition, 512Meg... blah... blah... blah) to replace my Quadro FX540.

I paid around £140.00 for the card and it seems to work a treat with Maya. I don't use my computer for gaming but looking at the spec for gaming cards in relation to workstation cards these days and then comparing the price the choice for me (an impoverished student) was a simple one!
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 01:09 PM   #13
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Thats true Mat, I think its horses for courses, like I said my one of my PC's at uni has the X1300 in and its horrible (you can still work in maya but its a bit flickerey and the textures dont really show up well, and sometimes the viewports lock up) on the otherhand the dual X1900's that my other uni PC has is perfect, no probs at all.

Ive got a Gforce 4000 inn my home desktop and thats fine with maya, so is the Gforce 7900 GTX, although I hear on other forums that the 8000 series Gforces have a few issues.....????

Its a confusing choice and with the gaming cards being a lot cheaper than the Qualified worksations cards with similar specs, its a bit of suck it and see, since you'll have no probs with a qualified card, but its gonna cost ya, or you might have a problem with a gaming card but its cheaper and you can work round it, or it might be perfect!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2007, 06:21 PM   #14
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

gster 1 think my friend had that same problem i fix it but changing the res of the screen.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.