Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-03-2010, 09:58 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Weights Problem

Hello all,

Ive created a small boy character for my final year animation project and im having a lot of problems when it comes to painting the weights of the character. I complete the painting and when i check the characters movements they dont correspond to the painted weights. Then when i go back to painting it looks completely different to the way i left it. its getting really frustrating and my deadline is approaching fast.

It seems that maya changes any smoothed weights and creates very harsh lines. Any suggestions why this is happening?
Im in desperate need of help and would greatly appreciate it if you could give me any suggestions.

Azman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2010, 05:07 PM   #2
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

have you checked in component editor?

make sure your vertices are matched to the corresponding joint. sometimes you can just select then and set them to 1 <which equals 100% attached to that particular join> then paint freely.

This should be done before painting, I learned the hard way >.<

I would explain more, but am omw to class.

let me know how goes.
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 01:22 PM   #3
Registered User
SwordOfValor's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Have you tryed pilates? Often no weights involved.
Windows 7 64-bit
AMD Phenom II 965 BE
Fire GL 8650
8 Gigabytes of Ram
SwordOfValor is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.