Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-06-2003, 09:24 PM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Alpha Decal

Hey Folks. Anyone who has been following my posts can see how I'm working my way through Maya. I'm now on mapping and am looking to figure out how to use an Alpha to determine which pixels on my map get applied, and which get ignored.

I'm used to 3DSMax where you just click a button to tell it to use or ignore the alpha. I don't ecpect it to be that easy in Maya, but I can't seem to find it anywhere.

Thanks,
-dann
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 09:42 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Maya will use the alpha by default pretty much.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 09:47 PM   #3
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

To clarify even more, it'll apply the image's alpha to the material's Transparency channel.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 10:14 PM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Well it's not so working the way I thought it would so what am I doing wrong?

To explain more clearly what I'm looking for is for the words in the image below "Alpha Please" to be mapped on my object, but the checker pattern be ignored due to the alpha.

Do I have to do something with the color balance? When I try it affects the whole bitmap, not just the alpha'd area. Should I be using Alpha Gain or Alpha Offset ? I've searched the docs and can't find any explaination of what these do. I've tried changing their values but I have seen no effect.

p.s. sorry the image quality is so poor, but 15K was hard to get to.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 10:34 PM   #5
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Make sure you're using a 32-bit targa. When you apply the image to the color channel, the alpha will automatically get mapped to the transparency channel.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 10:36 PM   #6
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I am using a 32 bit tiff. I tired Targas, no differece.

Nothing is automatically happening with the alpha. I've checked in Photoshop, it is there.

Last edited by Dann : 30-06-2003 at 10:42 PM.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 10:59 PM   #7
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Try connecting the image file to the material's transparency channel. It should use the alpha channel.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2003, 11:09 PM   #8
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Tried that, still uses RGB.

the only success I've had is by creating a duplicate projector utility and matching the links within the graph using Alpha istead of color. It works but what an ugly way to do it.

Everyone says Maya will use the alpha automatically, but I don't see it. I guess my have the "special" version.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2003, 12:10 AM   #9
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Sooo Close

OK, I see what you're talking about with automatically adding the transparency, but that's only if you don't want to do any projection mapping. For my project I need projection mapping and Maya doesn't seem to add the transparency as easily with projection maps.

However I GOT IT TO WORK. Anyone care to see how, feel free to download and check out the file.

Thanks for the hints along the way.

-dann
Attached Files
File Type: zip seamonster.zip (14.9 KB, 14 views)
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2003, 12:28 AM   #10
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

You could also always go to your file node, and in your attribute ed., there is an effects twirl-down, and in that you can check INVERT ALPHA to get what you wanted
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2003, 12:32 AM   #11
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Sorry Rage, but I wasn't getting any Alpha, so inverting wouldn't have helped much.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2003, 01:43 AM   #12
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Unhappy Argh!

I DON"T GET IT!!!

Every time I think I understand Maya, I get smacked down. I thought I had it working, but when I switched my multi-colored bitmep to black (which is what I need), it no longer renders. Is black illegal in Maya? It can't be, so what the hell do I do?

Anyone who understands alphas in Maya, please take a look at this file and tell me how on this green earth I can make the bitmap text appear as black on the blue plane.

Please don't tell me to paint blue into my texture map because this in only a test file that will lead up to the real file which needs to use an alpha as a decal.

Please help me! I've been trying to map this for about 10-12 hours!!! I'm on the verge of tears here.

Thanks,
-dann
Attached Files
File Type: zip alphatester.zip (49.6 KB, 17 views)
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2003, 04:44 AM   #13
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Ah, I checked your file, and none of your images match the image names in your shader's file nodenames?

BUT, I think I have an idea as to what you wanna do, so I'll give it a go

...be back...
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2003, 05:05 AM   #14
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

That's weird. I just looked and they match when I open the file. I'm looking forward to what you come up with.
Thanks.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2003, 05:29 AM   #15
howardporter
Subscriber
 
howardporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 985
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I think the reason the black wasnt showing up was because your enviornment was black? maybe?

is this what you were after?
Attached Thumbnails
 
howardporter is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.