Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-07-2003, 12:30 PM   #1
dazmanian23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Camera fly through noise fog

Hi
I need to make noised fog that a camera will fly through
When I add 3d texture to envFog it flickers when the camera move,when I use cloud particles, same thing happened.
Did anyone got to achive smooth flythrough fog with noise.
on maya 5 complete?
Thanks
dazmanian23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2003, 05:16 PM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I'll be able to answer your better tonight when I get home from work...

But in the meantime, I have some questions for you:

There are two types of Environment Fog-Simple Fog and Physical Fog. Which are you using?

Also, just an FYI, Environment fog cannot cast shadows, so if you want to cast shadows, you must use Light Fog
(just in case you are wanting shadows to better see the noise detail in your fog.... )
Just thought I would add that, as I don't know much of how you setup your lights....

Also, from the docs, in case you might have missed it:

"To create variations in the density and color of environment fog across the camera's view (like you are doing with your noise texture), turn on Use Layer and assign a texture to the Layer attribute. (You may need to limit the Depth Range, and increase Volume Samples for the environment fog shape to see the effect.)"


Also from the Maya 4.5 docs: (I know you are using 5, but try it, it couldn't hurt )

"Grainy or flickering environment fog troubleshooting:

Turn on Shading Samples Override for the environment fog shape, and increase Shading Samples and Max Shading Samples (to the lowest value that produces acceptable results).

or

Turn on Volume Samples Override for the environment fog shape, and increase Volume Samples (to the lowest value that produces acceptable results)."
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 01:55 AM   #3
dazmanian23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks ragecgi
I am using physical fog.
But the problem is that 3d noise is nothing but a bunch of pictures
so when the camera moves,a new picture apear every frame,
and thats the actual flickering.looks great only with static camera.
Same thing with cloud particles,they look flat not volumatic.
I have been through does Docs,but it didnt help since its
not a noise flicker but the texturs changing rapidly.
I never managed to get the "Use Layer" to actualy work
I hope there is a way of achiving this basic effect with maya complete
Thanks
dazmanian23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 02:24 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Is there any way that you could post a small video or playblast of your shot?

..just so I know what you mean a little better

Thanks man!

I'd say just post an image, but that wouldn't show the flickering so...
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 03:57 AM   #5
dazmanian23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I put an mpg on
http://www.geocities.com/danraz23/fogy.html
Hope that help to understand the problem
You need to copy the url to new browser fot it to work
mmm....not sure why...
Cheers

Last edited by dazmanian23 : 15-07-2003 at 04:08 AM.
dazmanian23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 04:16 AM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Out of curiosity, what type of light setup do you have?

and, are they raytraced? or shadowmapped?
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 01:31 PM   #7
dazmanian23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

there are no shadows at all....
dazmanian23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 06:59 PM   #8
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I know, but I still need to know what light setup you have, plus, it is ALWAYS best to raytrace image mapped cloud particles if you ever use them

Lemme know
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 09:38 PM   #9
dazmanian23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can do the same test with no lights at all,its just fog...
anyways
I managed to start getting okey look with hardware multiPoint particles.Still tweaking it but the flight is smoother then the cloud particles.I use vegas video and not sure about compositing
the whole scene with full frame fog,is that possible?
Maybe there is a way to use z-buffer and composite in maya??
thanks
dazmanian23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 02:06 AM   #10
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

YUP!

That is usually the best way to add scene fog IMHO.

Just render out a separate "depth" pass, or render your frames with Z depth ON to Maya .iff, or any other fomat that supports the extra 8 bit Z channel, and use those frames as your depth control layer in your comping app.

One way I do this, is to download a shader called "Yuya Depth Shader" on Highend, and apply that to your abjects in a separate file, render that, and it will give you FULL antialiasing AND Mblur if you need it also

Use that as above, and you should have better results in your post app

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.