Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-07-2003, 03:04 PM   #1
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Soft Binding

O.K. I have a character that I have converted successfully to Maya (Alf) I rigged him up and did a walk cycle for the little bleeder. I noticed anomalies on the surface of the model which needed the soften/harden normals command. I applied this and it fixed me problem, however I noticed that therewas some stuff in the history so I did a delete by type history...

Then all of a sudden me mesh was frozen... seemed by deleting by type history had removed the binding of the mesh? The skeleton walked on but the mesh stayed where it was. Is this what it is supposed to do? I would have thought once bound deleting the history wouldn't touch this an make the file smaller?

Anyone got any ideas?
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2003, 03:08 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

once you bind you cannot delete the history, or, as you have seen, the binding gets deleted as well.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 09:31 AM   #3
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply Mike! Hmmm, that does seem a rather cumbesome way of doing things... I say that because say you decide that you want to alter the model and you tweak a load of polygons (exactly like I have been doing) and then the model slows down because of the history getting large. You then delete the history and the binding goes? Not very flexibe to me!

Instead, do you unbind the model do your tweaks and modifications, delete the history, then rebind to the skeleton. Great, but what about all the hours of painting weight maps on the thing will they all be lost and you'd have to start again? I haven't looked to see if you can save the maps and reapply them. Either way it seems a bit clunky to me...

Is there a tutorial out there that explains this better? I have the Character Animation book from Sybex, but I haven't read that far yet.
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 01:33 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You can select individual history items and delete them. I'm not sure how deleting a lot at one time affects the model, though, as I've never had to do that.

You just go into the attribute editor, select the history tab at the top, press the "select" button at the bottom, and in your scene, press the delete key to get rid of it.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 01:50 PM   #5
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Gee Fanks Mate! I will try that over the weekend - I did wonder if you could delete individual items.

When I delete by type history it deletes all my edits so I am not sure what you mean when you say that you have never had to do that?
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 01:51 PM   #6
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can export your skin weights to external files (Skin > Edit Smooth Skin > Export Skin Weight Maps) and then reload them later (Skin > Edit Smooth Skin > Import Skin Weight Maps) after you've modified your mesh. Some of the weights might not be perfect, but it's far better than redoing everything.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 02:04 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yes,that's true, too, danny.

What I meant was, I generally tend to make sure the model is how I want it before binding, so I've not had to delete a whole lot of history items individually before.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.