Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-12-2005, 10:42 PM   #1
Daandrumz
Registered User
 
Daandrumz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Amsterdam, Holland
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 6.5 temp save failing

hey,

I have a problem with my Maya Unl 6.5. When I'm in the program, and I move around for a bit, after a short while I get the error:

"Fatal Error. Attempting to save in C:/DOCUME~1/DAANSW~1/LOCALS~1/Temp/......ma"

So I figure maya is having a problem with creating Temp save files in the Temp-directory. But does anyone know how to solve this? or perhaps how to change the autosave dir so it does work?
Thnx if anyone can help me...


DaanDrumz
Daandrumz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 03:36 PM   #2
Pyrus
Subscriber
 
Pyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fries Fries Fries
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Daan,

Though I'm pretty new to MAYA (used the wonderfull C4D since the very beginning), I'll have a go on this chapter

Did ya try setting up a PROJECT in order to have working directory in another place than default Doc&Sets directory.

Doc&Sets directory: for which one I would say : "Never use a c:\directory (what ever the depth) >> it's the best way to loose all your work if your OS is ****ed up for whatever the reason.


ps : I didn't find that AUTO Save feature though, speaking about "Incremental save" in save option box ?
Pyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 04:00 PM   #3
Daandrumz
Registered User
 
Daandrumz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Amsterdam, Holland
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That just might be the solution to the problem . I changed the default project directory and it hasn't crashed or given errors since! I'll knock on wood just in case :p but thnx a lot!
Daandrumz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 04:01 PM   #4
Pyrus
Subscriber
 
Pyrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fries Fries Fries
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You're welcome dude
Pyrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.