Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 14-04-2011 , 08:56 PM
gtovey's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82

macs VS pcs?

At school i use a MAC to run maya and etc. But i am looking to buy it for use at home, i was wondering what i should get, A MAC or PC to run maya and other programs? What are some benefits to one or the other?


GT
# 2 14-04-2011 , 09:10 PM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
I don't think there's really much difference in using maya between macs and pcs (except some shortcuts)... so it really comes down to budget and preference. This isn't the place for yet another mac vs pc debate, but rest assured that there are many people here that are happy with macs and others that are happy with pcs.
Make a list of what software you want to run, and check compatibilities for mac os, windows etc.
Check your budget against the available mac platforms, and see if that gives you what you want. (You can get a PC for any amount of money generally). As for specs, do a search on the forums, since there's a ton of info already. If you have a specific question, feel free to ask.

Hope that helps.

# 3 14-04-2011 , 09:29 PM
murambi's Avatar
Head of 3d Admedia
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,339
nowadays the prices for both pc and mac are almost the same except for ram so its really upto what os are you most comfortable in

# 4 14-04-2011 , 09:32 PM
Nilla's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 827

# 5 14-04-2011 , 09:45 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,224
Go with whatever your comfortable with. Personally you couldn't give me a Mac, but for Maya usage it just comes down to your preference.

/me waits for a hoard of people to come in and start the whole mac vs pc debate again lol

Dave user added image


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 6 15-04-2011 , 12:25 AM
Acid44
Guest
Posts: n/a
It begins again. D:

PC.

# 7 15-04-2011 , 03:58 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
There are some things I really like about Macs but...

user added image


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 8 15-04-2011 , 07:08 AM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
No real difference, all parts are the same so....

Only thing I would have a think about is graphics card in the Macs. (same when specing a PC for maya though)

Macs are good as a platform with balanced hardware but suffer in upgrading and customisation.


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 9 15-04-2011 , 07:18 AM
Some Guy's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Heres my input.

A Mac works for any Mac program because it HAS to. If there is any compatibility issue a Mac just freaks out and wont listen. With Windows you have the ability to run unsupported software at the risk of it being unstable. Apple pretty much makes it impossible to indie or customise so thats where the 'Macintoshes never crash' thing comes from.

Don't buy in when people say how amazing Mac's are for editing and graphic design. Its the same deal as before except you are paying twice as much for something that will just be outdated when the iWhatever (insert next version here) comes out...

But thats just my bias iPinion...


"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
# 10 15-04-2011 , 04:03 PM
gtovey's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
haha i'm sorry for this guys i was just curious didnt know i was doing anything wrong haha.. next time i'll look around before i post. sorry lol thanks for the input though and Nova nice video hah


GT
# 11 25-04-2011 , 12:06 AM
Ponyboy's Avatar
Total noobz
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 24
I have both! I use the Mac for "projects" though.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads