Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 15-09-2003 , 11:55 PM
clebo99's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 75

Another Newbie Rendering Question

Hey Again Everyone,

Ok, so I successfully rendered an ocean scene with words rising up from the sea with the help of some people on this board. Now this next question may not be exactly for this board but I'm gonna ask anyway.

When I rendered the 4 second scene, I rendered it to an .AVI file. I did this because I wanted to import it into Studio8 (this is a movie making program that comes with new Dells to burn DVD's etc).

Anyway, I wasn't able to import the .AVI file into the program. On their website forum, they mentioned .AVI Type 1 and Type 2, with Type 2 being the format that can be imported. They even mentioned a program to convert an AVI to Type 2.

I thought that I just selected AVI when I rendered. Is there a way to select what type I want to import it to?

Any thoughts?

Chris, Baltimore.

# 2 16-09-2003 , 12:00 AM
iron_tick's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
There is a problem with importing avi from maya. the only solution ive found is to find another program to convert the avi 1 file to a 2 file and then import it into you favorite editing program. a good program i found for "bridging" is adobe premeire.


<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
# 3 16-09-2003 , 02:57 AM
NitroLiq's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
The best thing to do is render out all your frames as targa or tiff files. Then, simply import the files into videomach or premiere and output the avi from there.


"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
# 4 16-09-2003 , 03:44 AM
mtmckinley's Avatar
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
yeah, Maya's avi rendering is not that good.

# 5 16-09-2003 , 07:23 PM
clebo99's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 75
Thanks for the info.

Is Premire a COTS product? Any idea how much it costs? Is there any shareware/freeware that can do this as well or no?

Do we know if there are any patches coming out to fix the AVI issue with MAYA or is it not even on their radar.

Thanks again everyone.

Chris, Baltimore

# 6 17-09-2003 , 01:11 AM
NitroLiq's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
I was referring to Adobe Premiere which you can read up on at Adobe's website. If you want to go the free route, try VideoMach. I wouldn't hold your breath about a patch for rendering out AVIs in Maya. It's actually better to render out stills anyway as you can render out several different passes for compositing later.


"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq; 17-09-2003 at 01:14 AM.
# 7 17-09-2003 , 11:50 PM
clebo99's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 75
Wow...Thanks again.

I have one final question...When you say "render out all your frames as targa or tiff files", I thought that .tiff files are single frame files. In this scenario, would I be making x amount of single frames and imput each of them individually or is this just another ".avi" like format.

I also downloaded that VideoMach program and I'll give that a try.

Again, this is great help. I promise to help some newbie 2 years from now when I have your expertise.

Chris, Baltimore

# 8 17-09-2003 , 11:57 PM
clebo99's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 75
Guys,

That worked like a CHARM!!!! I was able to import the AVI into Studio8 with VideoMach.

Thank you very much!!!!!!!!

Chris

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads