Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 27-06-2013 , 07:44 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11

$include error

New to script writing, I tried using a script from a book and it gave me this error.

What does that mean? seems "$include" is fairly common. So not sure exactly is wrong.

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 27-06-2013 , 08:36 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
It means the variable `$include` was not defined prior to use. Post the whole script if you can.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 3 27-06-2013 , 09:29 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
verbose on
link "base.so"
$include <base.mi>

options "opt"
samples -1 1
contrast .1 .1 .1 .1
trace depth 2 2
end options

camera "cam1"
frame 1
output "rgb" "x.rgb"
focal 100
aperture 144.724029
aspect 1.179245
resolution 500 424
end camera

instance "caminst1" "cam1" end instance

light "light1"
"mib_light_point" (
"color" 1 1 1,
"shadow" on,
"factor" 1
)
origin 141.375732 83.116005 35.619434
end light

instance "lightinst1" "light1" end instance

material "mtl" opaque
"mib_illum_phong" (
"ambience" .3 .3 .3,
"ambient" .5 .5 .5,
"diffuse" .7 .7 .7,
"specular" 1 1 1,
"exponent" 50,
"lights" [ "lightinst1" ]
)
end material

object "obj1"
visible shadow trace
group "mesh"
-7.068787 -4.155799 -22.885710
-0.179573 -7.973234 -16.724060
-7.068787 4.344949 -17.619093
-0.179573 0.527515 -11.457443
0.179573 -0.527514 -28.742058
7.068787 -4.344948 -22.580408
0.179573 7.973235 -23.475441
7.068787 4.155800 -17.313791

v 0 v 1 v 2 v 3 v 4 v 5 v 6 v 7

c "mtl" 0 1 3 2
c 1 5 7 3
c 5 4 6 7
c 4 0 2 6
c 4 5 1 0
c 2 3 7 6
end group
end object

instance "inst1" "obj1" end instance

instgroup "world"
"caminst1" "lightinst1" "inst1"
end instgroup

render "world" "caminst1" "opt" # render frame 1

incremental camera "cam1"
frame 2
aperture 100
end camera

incremental light "light1"
"mib_light_point" (
"color" 1 0 1,
)
end light

render "world" "caminst1" "opt" # render frame 2

# 4 27-06-2013 , 10:06 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
It'll help to specify the language because unless I'm losing my mind, this is not MEL.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 5 27-06-2013 , 11:57 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
haha kk! thanks 4 the help

# 6 27-06-2013 , 11:59 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
i guess its c++, what program do i even use to write c++ into maya

# 7 28-06-2013 , 12:28 AM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
If you're new to script writing and want to do stuff in Maya, I'd definitely start with MEL. There's a lot more resources, Maya tells you exactly what commands it needs (echo commands), and more people here are familiar with it.

Edit: I'm not sure you can even script C++ direct in Maya. Doesn't it need to compile?

# 8 28-06-2013 , 12:30 AM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
# 9 28-06-2013 , 02:16 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
I saw "script writing" and the variable in question and assumed MEL. If you're new to programming then learning C++ via Maya is going to be heavy if not a little crazy. MEL is Maya's native language and is quite powerful. By the nature of C++, the tasks will execute faster but C++ is a whole other exponentially more complex beast.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 10 28-06-2013 , 02:17 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522

If you're new to script writing and want to do stuff in Maya, I'd definitely start with MEL. There's a lot more resources, Maya tells you exactly what commands it needs (echo commands), and more people here are familiar with it.

Edit: I'm not sure you can even script C++ direct in Maya. Doesn't it need to compile?

As far as I know yes, a compiler is needed.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 11 28-06-2013 , 04:07 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
That's a mental ray scene file.

And yes, you need to compile your C++ code with the Maya dev kit, linking it to the appropriate libraries and headers.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 28-06-2013 at 04:56 AM.
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads