Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 01-05-2013 , 01:22 AM

Lighting in Maya vs Lighting in Flame

I am not a Maya artist. I am debating a flame artist about a current job.

Maya is taking 15-20 min/frame to render, and the exr files are then brought into flame, where he spends 3 days "lighting" and colour correcting 30 sec worth of animation. He says it's faster to correct in flame than to re-render.

My argument is that the time would be better spent getting the scene right in Maya, so that every frame is complete once it's rendered. If (when) the client comes back for more, the scene will be properly lit, and the Maya artists just has to create the action with the existing characters in the existing (properly lit) world.

user added image

# 2 01-05-2013 , 02:36 AM
EduSciVis-er
By my calculation, 30 sec of animation at 30fps at 15-20min/frame = ~9 or so days of rendering. So yes, it is faster to correct in flame if it only takes 3 days. Of course the more you can get right in the render, the better, but I think it's unrealistic to expect there will be no requested changes to the render, or that there won't be some small tweaks to improve it in post. My two cents.

# 3 07-05-2013 , 04:26 AM

By my calculation, 30 sec of animation at 30fps at 15-20min/frame = ~9 or so days of rendering. So yes, it is faster to correct in flame if it only takes 3 days. Of course the more you can get right in the render, the better, but I think it's unrealistic to expect there will be no requested changes to the render, or that there won't be some small tweaks to improve it in post. My two cents.