Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 04-12-2004 , 04:26 AM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 42

Hardware Render Buffer

When I use the Hardware Render Buffer to render out a path animation with Flow Path Object, The alpha channel is ignored even when I select Hardware Alpha. A default black is matted to the background. I have been getting an error message:

Error: Wrong number of arguments on call to flipbookRW.

Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks. -Craig

*I am rendering a Tiff sequence

# 2 05-12-2004 , 07:07 PM
Dann's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Not sure, but it could be that your hardware card doesn't support alphas. Try settiing Luminance alphas.

# 3 06-12-2004 , 04:29 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 42
It was actually working earlier last week. Now I keep getting a flipbook error message. I'd render it with the normal Maya or mental ray software, but the edges get to pixalated. I'm not sure what to do.

# 4 06-12-2004 , 04:52 PM
Dann's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
If the edges get too aliased in the software renderer, then up the anti-aliasing quality.

# 5 06-12-2004 , 05:42 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 42
Yeah, the aliasing was maxed. They still have saw toothed edges

# 6 06-12-2004 , 06:58 PM
Dann's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
That doesn't make any sense. If it's one thing Maya does well, it's anti-aliasing. Do you have pre-multiply turned off or something? What are your anti-alias settings?

# 7 06-12-2004 , 07:33 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 42
It could be because I built it in nurbs.

# 8 06-12-2004 , 07:37 PM
Dann's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
No, I work in NURBs sometimes and get nice clean edges. If you want help, post an image of your render, and maybe your render globals. Something is amiss.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads