Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 14-01-2006 , 10:31 AM

How do I create realistic outdoor lighting?

Hi guys, i'm new to Maya and was wondering how to create realistic (or near enough) outdoor lighting, I wasnt sure which lights to use. I'm looking to light a small scene with one character, any help would be cool, thanks.......Jim :headbang:

# 2 14-01-2006 , 12:06 PM
Have you tried using Mental ray with final gather switched on? That should do it for ya!

# 3 14-01-2006 , 02:15 PM
Ok, so you have to take into thought what kind of mental ray lights you need.

First thing- sunlight.
A very strong spot light converted to a mental ray area light (but make sure the cone angle is large) with a high sampling factor (which you find under the mental ray tab in the spot light attributes). As for shadows, use raytraced shadows and just mess around with the values. also, the color needs to be a bit yellowish

Second- ambient light.
You need a bunch of little lights that make light from all around to fake this effect. How about a dome of spotlights, each with an intensity of 0.3, with ray traced shadows, and a lot of trace depth limit.

that should be enough for a nice render of an outdoor object

Live the life you love, love the life you live
# 4 14-01-2006 , 04:14 PM
Subscriber
Try making some of your ambient lights light blue to mimic the light coming from the sky. (Or if you're using FG, make the camera environment color a light blue also). In conjumction with the light-yellow sun light it gives some nice outdoors contrast.

# 5 14-01-2006 , 08:17 PM

Thanks