SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2006, 01:09 PM   #1
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Image plains

Hi, I was trying the Image Plain tutorial on this site, the one with the dragon, but when I add the lambert with the dragon-picture to the plain, I still can't see the dragon, only in the Render View. Is there a way to see the dragon on the plain in the working area too?
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 01:12 PM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

press 6 on the keyboard should do it
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 01:23 PM   #3
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, thanks! But it has somehow cut the image like you see in the picture I attached. Any idea what I've done wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	127.2 KB
ID:	26749  
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 01:26 PM   #4
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Ok, when you go to my documents - Maya - etc...

At one point you will find a file called Maya.env.
Open that file up with notepad or something, and it should be empty if you have not done this before. Now, copy/paste this into that blank file

MAYA_NON_POWER_TWO_OFF = 1;

That should fix it.
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 01:37 PM   #5
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, that worked! Thank you.
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:06 PM   #6
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, and one more thing about image planes: How do I make the images on the planes not disappear when I'm in wireframe mode? And lock them so I don't select them when I'm modelling?
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:47 PM   #7
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

you can't...
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 02:22 PM   #8
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Really? But how do I model in wireframe-mode with a picture to follow in the background? I've seen images of that in tutorials, but never seen an explanation on how they do it...
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 02:19 AM   #9
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

To model in wireframe and still see a reference image, instead of assigning the image to a polygon plane (I think that this is what you have done), you would need to import the image so that you can see it through the relevant camera.

So, go to your viewport menu and select Image plane>Import image. It is a good idea to set the window to default view before doing this.

Not sure if I understood your question correctly, but I hope that this helps.
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 05:11 PM   #10
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by arran
To model in wireframe and still see a reference image, instead of assigning the image to a polygon plane (I think that this is what you have done), you would need to import the image so that you can see it through the relevant camera.

So, go to your viewport menu and select Image plane>Import image. It is a good idea to set the window to default view before doing this.

Not sure if I understood your question correctly, but I hope that this helps.
Yeah, it did, thank you

But I still have a problem with getting the picture in the right size. I've resized them in Photoshop first, and the front camera picture and side view camera picture is just the same height. still the front camera image is much bigger. I've tried to scaling it, but that's difficult and takes alot of time. How do I import them in their right size?
Husam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 04:57 PM   #11
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I think that you can resize the image plane in the channel box. (Go to image plane>image attributes... I think). If your front and side images are the correct size before bringing them into Maya, make sure that you click default size in the viewport menu before importing.
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 06:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 09:30 AM
Mec Celeste - Original SM Gallery Image by Diego Ruiz Diaz Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 22-12-2010 04:58 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 01:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 11:32 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.