Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 27-04-2006 , 03:14 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3

batch renders and glow

I have two questions:

My glow effects (called within the blinn shader node) flicker over time in my animation. I've read somewhere that it's due to autoexposure being on. So, how do I turn it off? Or is it due to something else?

I'm working on a 580 frame sequence that involves oceans, boats, and motor boats. Thing is, the batch render mysteriously stopped at 30% completion on frame 109. when I restarted the batch render from 109 things were out of place - the boat locator had been reset to its x=0 transform, the bouyancy was all out of whack... can I write a script that'll replay the animation up to a point and start rendering frame per frame there without me having to use the batch render? Like something that would play a frame, render it, save it, play the next, render... that way, if I decide to start in the middle of an animation, the script would play back up to that point and commence the frame-per-frame rendering.

or is there a way to cache the boat movement/sinking/floating so I don't have to play back all the way? I've tried activating the cache at several nodes (including the locators) and the ocean itself (its shader and displacement nodes) to no amount of success.

Hope that wasn't too confusing.

# 2 25-05-2006 , 01:16 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 136
Don't know too much about oceans and boats and such, but autoexposure I think is found in the shader glow node in your Hypershade. You'd have to turn it off, but then the glow will look different, so you'll have to play with the two other setings to compensate.

Only downside is that it will affect every glow in your scene.

Hope that helps user added image

# 3 25-05-2006 , 03:24 PM
olivermagno's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 94
try to tweak the settings of your sampling value in your renderGlobals, start with 4 and 16.


------------------------------------------------
our decisions-not the conditions of our lives
determine our destiny.
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads