SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / avi file output too choppy
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-11-2002, 12:47 PM   #1
deryk
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default avi file output too choppy

hi. i've been working with maya for a grand total of 3 days now, and am still learning the basics. i recently tested creating a .avi movie of a rotating cube that was only 60 frames long, with a 320x240 resolution. my problem is:

1. the file size is a bit big for a 60 frame movie. it's bordering on 25-30MB (but that's acceptable, though if there's a way to reduce it, i'd love to hear about it)

and

2. the video plays too slow... not just slow, but with choppy animation, and i see the hard disk access light on my pc light up too frequently.. i've played feature-length movies on my pc and they go by without a hint of slowdown. why does a 60 frame movie from maya go all choppy? i'm thinking it doesnt need to calculate anymore since everything's already prerendered in the .avi file, so why this problem? if you could suggest any solutions, i'd really appreciate it.

thanks!
deryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 12:52 PM   #2
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yep dont use the AVI output in maya... Use a programme like premiere or like wise, its much better mate... btw welcome to simply maya deryk
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 12:58 PM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Sounds like maya (or you) rendered an uncompressed avi. You should compress the video in order to get smaller file size and smoother playback. One way to do it is to get the DivX codec and a free app called VirtualDub. With those you can compress the rendered avi without re-rendering...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 12:59 PM   #4
deryk
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi! thanks for the welcome!
i'll check out what you suggested. my question though is, to what format should i export my maya animation in order for me to be able to work with it in premiere? can it splice together jpeg sequences?

thanks!
deryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 01:50 PM   #5
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hi Deryk!
Welcome to SM bro!

Actually the best way you have for outputting video images would be to actually render a batch of images (perhaps Tiff?) and then composing those in AfterEffects, after that you can edit them as if they were a video in Premiere or whatver editor you prefer. Furtermore you could even render in passes that sequence of images for further customizability.

So ... perhaps this one could be a good workflow.
  • Render the sequence of frames -each is going to be a differente image- (Tiff)
  • Compose them together in AfterEffects. (That would be the splicing you refered to in your last reply)
  • Edit like a video in Premiere
Hope this helps mate ..
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 01:51 PM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

To work with it in Premiere, just leave it alone

The better the quaity of your source footage, the better chance your compresed final will look
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 01:54 PM   #7
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adldesigner
Hi Deryk!
Welcome to SM bro!

Actually the best way you have for outputting video images would be to actually render a batch of images (perhaps Tiff?) and then composing those in AfterEffects, after that you can edit them as if they were a video in Premiere or whatver editor you prefer. Furtermore you could even render in passes that sequence of images for further customizability.

So ... perhaps this one could be a good workflow.
  • Render the sequence of frames -each is going to be a differente image- (Tiff)
  • Compose them together in AfterEffects. (That would be the splicing you refered to in your last reply)
  • Edit like a video in Premiere
Hope this helps mate ..
hey that great adl! very nice explanation 10/10
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:02 PM   #8
deryk
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for your help guys!
i just tried both techniques posted here (compression and external splicing) and they both worked pretty good.

wow two new techniques in one day. awright.. time to get on over to the modelling threads!

although i do have one more thing about the "smooth proxy tool" in 4.5 ... why is it that when i do create proxy, meaning my real poly is transparent over the smoothed one, when i scale or rotate my "real" poly, the smoothed one under it doesnt move at all? plus when i delete the "real" poly, the smoothed one remains there but i can't click it? yep newbie stuff.. tomorrow's gonna be my 4th day working with maya. hehehe. =)

thanks again!
deryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 02:36 PM   #9
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How much is AfterEffects & is there a cheaper equivilant??
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 03:08 PM   #10
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you dont have the cash for After E you can just import your avi into premiere. re-render the avi with premiere and it automaticly cleans up the choppy-ness. after E and premiere use the same avi compression software. ( there both adobe)
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.