SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / skin weights problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-10-2006, 07:40 AM   #1
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default skin weights problem

hi,

I've got a rigged character, now there is on vertice where it is impossible to set the smooth skin values to 0. Neither with the paint weights tool nor in the component editor. Whatever I do in the component editor, the total value spread around the joints is always one. Now if I zero one joint out the weight wanders to another and so forth until I end up having a value of 1 on one joint. If I zero that one out the values spread around my joints again and the whole thing starts from the beginning.

any ideas?
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 09:28 AM   #2
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

in your component editor, try turing off 'hold' in the smooth section for the attributes you dont wish to be painted.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2006, 01:22 PM   #3
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hmmm hold is off on all of them. I tried turning hold on on all but the one I wanted to zero out. After I did that I had a value of 0.03 on all my joints even though I have the max influence on 4 -pretty wired
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 03:46 PM   #4
epicor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default why?

i understand what you are trying to do but why would you want something with a 0 value? that means it will not follow the rig when you start animating it. it will just float in space as the rig moves off. if you are trying to avoid deformtion in that peice just put is to a full 1 on all pts to a static joint, like the pelvis if your model is a biped.
epicor is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.