SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Saving Preset Brushes in photoshop?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2008, 08:36 AM   #1
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Saving Preset Brushes in photoshop?

Hi,
How do I save preset brushes in Photoshop CS3?
I can't seem to save the brush. When I finished making my brush, I painted the pattern on the screen,
I went to Edit, then define preset brush. Instead of saving the brush, it made me a pattern instead.

I remember in the earlier photoshops, you were able to save the actual brush. How do I do this?
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 02:53 PM   #2
Al_mullin
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats wierd, it should work. what you running photoshop on?
Al_mullin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 12:01 AM   #3
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm running Photoshop CS3. I know This could be done, but I'm guessing "save preset brushes" isn't the one.

You think you can try and test that out, to see if that does the brush, or if it does the pattern?
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 12:37 PM   #4
sspikedudley
Subscriber
 
sspikedudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

right your getting yourself confused here:
Define brush is simply for taking what is painted on screen and making a default brush out of it, so if I painted a detailed rock on screen and defined it as a brush, I would then have a brush that paints the rock texture in the default hard round way.

If you have played around with brush settings already and simply want to save that all you have to do is in the brush creator do down to the new symbol at the bottom and name your brush
sspikedudley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 10:58 PM   #5
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol I feel stupid. It was so easy. That did the trick. Thanks a lot.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.