SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Which Parameters Of Your Pc Determine Rendering Speed?, RAM? PROCESSOR? GRAPHICS CARD
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-03-2009, 06:44 PM   #1
koutz@s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Which Parameters Of Your Pc Determine Rendering Speed?, RAM? PROCESSOR? GRAPHICS CARD

If you inncrease RAM in your PC, rendering will be faster?
Or if you install a better GRAPHICS CARD?
Or get a better PROCESSOR?
koutz@s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2009, 07:20 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

They're all connected, without getting too wordy, better cpu is faster rendering BUT that doesn't mean you should skimp on RAM, the components need to be able to keep up with each other or you'll get bottlenecking.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2009, 07:49 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If its a software/MR render its all in the CPU speed, the RAM speed also helps to a degree to swap files and hold parts.

If its hardware then its down to the GFX card, though I get a feeling in a few months/years we'll see big upped hardware rendering capabilities what with CUDA and all that.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2009, 05:18 PM   #4
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

what they said
but more cores= better
EG 3 3Gz processors are better than 1 8Gz processor
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2009, 08:33 PM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by elephantinc
but more cores= better
only when your software is built to handle multiple cores
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2009, 09:07 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by elephantinc

but more cores= better
EG 3 3Gz processors are better than 1 8Gz processor
One thing to note though the more CPU's the faster in general, not cores, when scaling up, cores can be bottle necked with the FSB so you get lower returns for more cores, untill technology improves.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2009, 01:14 AM   #7
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chirone
only when your software is built to handle multiple cores
How is maya for multiple cores/CPUs? (i.e. running it as well as rendering)
E.g. 2 quad-core processors with hyperthreading for a total of 16 virtual cores?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2009, 08:10 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stwert
How is maya for multiple cores/CPUs? (i.e. running it as well as rendering)
E.g. 2 quad-core processors with hyperthreading for a total of 16 virtual cores?
Leave running and rendering sepperate, when rendering a big scene use the cmd line or a right click (modded if using MR) and just leave it.

The only quads you can get with hyper threading are the i7's I think, and you cant get them on a dual motherboard as far as I know.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2009, 04:22 PM   #9
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
The only quads you can get with hyper threading are the i7's I think, and you cant get them on a dual motherboard as far as I know.
I know you can get Xeons with hyper-threading on a dual motherboard...
I guess I was just wondering if running maya (apart from rendering) could take advantage of multiple cores and/or CPUs to increase the speed and poly # limits of the viewport for example.
And on a separate issue if multi-core provided a significant speed-up for rendering.
Thanks,
Stwert
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2009, 08:00 PM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stwert
I know you can get Xeons with hyper-threading on a dual motherboard...

Can you? Our dual quad Xenons only show up with 8 cores not 16, they are a couple of years old now though.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2009, 08:39 PM   #11
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I was thinking of the new Mac Pros, one of which I was initially considering buying and two quads will give you 16 virtual cores.

I think intel may have yet to release the equivalent processors for PCs, but when they come out (if they haven't already) I'm sure they will have the same ability.
But yes, I'm not sure whether or not the current or last years have hyper-threading.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2009, 12:49 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Ahh I see, like I said ours are a couple of years old. The processors in the Mac pro will probably be available for the PC, I doubt very much intel would bring something out on the apple before the PC. Its not their major market. Other than the processors the macs are generally lacking and overpriced.

Also having virtual cores isnt necessary a good thing as hyper threading can run into problems.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle

Last edited by gster123 : 28-03-2009 at 12:58 PM.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.