Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 29-06-2010 , 07:26 PM
Events Team at Wargaming.net
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 486

Cant apply shader

So a buddy of mine has a shader with a ps texture on it but he cant apply the shader to any objects, the uv's are laid out ok and we cant figure it out, there are no errors showing up when we apply it, it just wont show up.

# 2 30-06-2010 , 11:31 AM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Ive had that BUT it did show an error after I renamed the shader but forgot to hit the enter button then tried to import the file. It couldnt find the file..there are no errors at all???

Go into 'shading' in the panel options an check that 'hardware texturing' is clicked on.

Attached Thumbnails

bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 3 30-06-2010 , 03:01 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
In that very same screenshot Bullet posted, make sure "Use default material" is not checked. If that doesn't work, check the hardware texturing section in the shader's attribute editor and make sure it's texture channel is not set to none. I'm sure it's just a viewport setting you're after, if you render and the shader doesn't show then I'm stumped for now.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 4 01-07-2010 , 12:31 AM
Events Team at Wargaming.net
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 486
Alright thanks guys, I will have him check it out tomorrow when I see him and let you know what happens.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads