Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 02-09-2011 , 11:14 AM
Creck's Avatar
Great community
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 232

Which OS?

Hi,

I really don't know if I'm writing to right forum section, but would like to ask you under which OS I'll get the most of performance of Maya. Is it Mac OS or Windows ? Let's thought that hardware will be the same under both OSs....

Creck

# 2 02-09-2011 , 07:48 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Well, if you're using an Apple certified mac (Eg it came from them, stock) it's going to work with no problems.

If you're using Hackintosh, I wouldn't expect it to work brilliantly.

I would say OSX would be a bit faster, but that's just me. I find they have less services and ram-hogging applications running, just to run the OS.

Don't forget linux either! Most render nodes are running linux as it's very lightweight.

So in short, I would say Mac if you're running real Apple hardware, or Linux if you're running a PCish box.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 02-09-2011 at 07:50 PM.
# 3 02-09-2011 , 08:20 PM
Creck's Avatar
Great community
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 232
I've got a desktop PC and wanted to try Hackintosh, but as you says it could be faster with real Mac. Which version of Linux have you thought ? Ubuntu ?

Btw under which system do you run ? user added image


Last edited by Creck; 02-09-2011 at 08:26 PM.
# 4 03-09-2011 , 01:28 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 5 03-09-2011 , 02:22 AM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
The hardware is going to make a much bigger difference than the OS. Maya should run with few problems on Windows, Mac, or Linux, assuming you've got a legit copy and the hardware is compatible with the OS.

All that being said, it probably comes down to your personal preference. Whatever you're most familiar with will give you least headaches, and if you want the performance, see what hardware you can get for your buck (like an SSD and lotsa RAM).

# 6 03-09-2011 , 05:55 AM
Creck's Avatar
Great community
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 232
I've got 6GB RAM DDR3; hope it should be enough for beginning....SSD makes so huge improvement against classic HDD ?And what do you think about Ubuntu, is working and rendering under that OS much faster with Windows ?


Last edited by Creck; 03-09-2011 at 09:21 AM.
# 7 03-09-2011 , 01:59 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
6 GB is fine. SSD won't make a large difference with Maya, as the only time it's reading/writing from the hard drive, is when you're loading/saving files. Everything else is done in memory.

I don't know about Ubuntu, but since it has the same base as openSUSE it should be fine. The differences between OSes is going to be so negligible, I wouldn't worry about it.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 8 03-09-2011 , 06:42 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,225
Maya will work fine under Ubuntu I find it slightly faster and more stable, but really go with whatever OS your most comfortable with.

Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 9 04-09-2011 , 02:04 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 29
I like this thread. I almost went with linux but chickened out...., DOn't know too much about linux but it looks interesting- I installed ubuntu on my old laptop, but I get the impression that this particular version of linux has a lot of extra stuff in it in order to make it compatible with a lot of different hardware. The whole thing about using Terminal to install programs is a little weird, but cool.

As for the hackintosh thing, if you plan your hardware purchases properly you can have better/cheaper alternative.

suse sounds like a better bet- I'll look into that!

Thanks!


Last edited by me2011; 04-09-2011 at 02:07 AM.
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads