Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 16-03-2012 , 08:04 AM

Materials only reflect fluids that are in the initial camera view?

Hi all!

I'm fairly new to maya, so bear with me! I have a seriously irritating problem. i'm trying to render a simple animation in which i have a reflective surface and i want it to reflect ink-drops generated by maya fluids. Here's the problem:

the fluid reflects fine ONLY where it has been rendered in the original camera view. based on what i can see in the reflection, the reflected fluid simply 'ends' at the equivalent point that it's original counterpart goes out of shot. It is particulary irritating as there are some shots in which i need the fluid to be behind the camera which is in turn facing the surfuce looking only for the reflection. in these cases, nothing at all is reflected!

I'm absolutely desparate as i have an upcoming deadline and i'm beginning to feel i have bitten off more than i can chew!!

grateful for any help at all!

# 2 16-03-2012 , 08:23 AM
The thin red line
screen shot please.........dave

# 3 16-03-2012 , 08:26 AM
Subscriber
check the reflections on the material reflecting and reflected I had a similar problem with a mirror not reflecting everything in the shot including shadows etc. under the attribute editor under Raytrace options set your reflection limit higher on the reflecting material.

# 4 16-03-2012 , 08:38 AM
thanks daverave, as it's dealing with fluids i'm just rendering out the sequence until theres enough fluid to demonstrate properly (unless theres a way to render out just one frame containing fluid a it should be behaving at that point in the sequence? please bear with me, this is all pretty new to me!!) shouldnt be too long now.

# 5 16-03-2012 , 08:57 AM
@MamouruK