Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 09-04-2013 , 01:51 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 58

Countryside Scene

SwatSnipe and others have inspired me to try my own nature scene, so I'm jumping on the bandwagon.
Started with Maya Paint Effects for the trees and shrubs, converting to polys and replacing the leaves on the trees with double sided shaders. A lot of test rendering. I want to create a rich fern filled forest scene using mostly mr render proxies, I'm looking forward to pushing the memory limits.

Attached Thumbnails

Last edited by toddster; 09-04-2013 at 02:03 PM.
# 2 09-04-2013 , 07:25 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Looking good so far. I'll be watching this. user added image


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 3 10-04-2013 , 08:04 AM
murambi's Avatar
Head of 3d Admedia
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,339
me too havent seen a vegetation thread in a while. I always do enjoy them

# 4 10-04-2013 , 09:12 AM
Dushyant's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: On Earth
Posts: 168
Great Thread.

I can already feel some heat coming from your Cpu..user added image

I am also working on a scene nowadays with lots of vegetation. Was wondering proxies is best way to go as you can't see the shading and changes in Viewport. weren't Instancing is a better option.(just my view..user added image

Just to share i have use a creative crash script spPaint3d(https://www.creativecrash.com/maya/do...sc/c/sppaint3d) and it work like a charm.
and another one if you are not Animating the Vegetation then you can use this one too
https://www.creativecrash.com/maya/do...scatter-script

Looking forward for some more progress.


-dushyant


Last edited by Dushyant; 10-04-2013 at 01:14 PM.
# 5 11-04-2013 , 07:54 AM
dustykhan's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 187
This is also a nifty little script for tiling UVs and can be used on your leaves and also grass! Will be good to see this come together.

# 6 11-04-2013 , 08:29 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 58
thanks! I look forward to using those scripts.

# 7 11-04-2013 , 12:29 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
A great start mate user added image Looking forward to seeing this! I love the shader for the rock. Is it done with mia material?

# 8 11-04-2013 , 07:43 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
Btw, i would love to have the sp paint script! Would make it easier to make even better scenes. But i havn't gotten it to work in maya 2012 user added image

# 9 11-04-2013 , 08:54 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518

Btw, i would love to have the sp paint script! Would make it easier to make even better scenes. But i havn't gotten it to work in maya 2012 user added image

I've used it in 2012 and now 2013. What does the error say?


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 10 12-04-2013 , 08:14 AM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Make sure there is a script that gives you random placement user added image

Cheers bullet


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 11 12-04-2013 , 08:55 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 58
Yes it's just a straight mia material with a mossy rock texture from cg textures. A slight bump too. To be honest the rock I showed previously is the new version because I had grand ideas of using high detail displacement on them from zbrush, but realised the detail would never be seen, so decided to remodel them simpler with sharper angles and no displacement. Got to keep the memory free for the foliage! I may keep the old versions for another scene someday.
Cheers

Attached Thumbnails
Attached Images
# 12 12-04-2013 , 11:46 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
Gen: I type in "spPaint3d" and it says "result: spPaint3d" But nothing pops up :S

Btw toddster. What's your shading setup for the plants? Got translucensy in there?

# 13 12-04-2013 , 02:17 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 58
Yes, translucency on the leaves, although it's a fine line between enough and too much. Also double sided shader with different coloured leaves seems to add more variance to the trees. I've searched a few forums for the best way to do this - the way I've done it is physically incorrect but seems to work alright when I turn the weight down on the materials so they don't get burnt out.

Attached Thumbnails
# 14 12-04-2013 , 02:36 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
Ah, i See user added image i could send you one of my scene files with leaves

# 15 12-04-2013 , 08:25 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
@ SwatSnipe
All the files are there? There should be 5:

spPaint3d.mel
spPaint3dContext.py
spPaint3dContext.pyc
spPaint3dGui.py
spPaint3dGui.pyc

@ toddster
What are the leaf shader settings like? I've tooled around with piping the texture through a mult/div and into the translucency, got pretty good results.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads