Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 26-06-2013 , 12:22 PM

Unused Shortcut Keys

Hi, I'm looking for a list of unused keyboard keys to assign as shortcuts, every time I query a key it seems to already be assigned to something.

Cutrently im trying to assign shortcuts to:
(if any of them already have shortcuts please let me know. I would also be interested in what you have used as shotrcuts for these keys.)

Merge vertacies
Insert Loopcut
Extrude

Currently I have not been useing Maya long enough to know all the shortcuts I will need to asign as im new to the software so if you know any keys that I might also need that dont have pre-defined shortcuts please let me know. Thanks in advance.

Also just to tie in another question, has Maya got a copy location/scale/rotation tool to make it easier when overlaping meshes for bakeing?

Please give your surgestions on what shortcuts you use and what you think will work for me, thanks.

# 2 26-06-2013 , 03:13 PM
EduSciVis-er
Use marking menus... you can make your own or use the existing ones. Shift + RMB + swipe down is extrude. Very handy. Shift + RMB + Up has a couple options for merge vertices and Shift + RMB + Down/Left is Insert Edge loop when in object mode. You can watch my tuts on marking menus here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list...MFeIkJc58OChNN

If you really want hotkeys, most of the regular buttons are taken, but you can usually find ctrl+shift+key. Semi-colon is free.

# 3 26-06-2013 , 03:21 PM
EduSciVis-er