Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 20-06-2014 , 10:05 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23

Hot keys for camera placement

I'm new to Maya, but I've been using other 3D programs for a while.

One thing that I was very much accustomed to on the previous program I was using that is not present in Maya was a lack of being able to control the view with the number pad. I wanted to know if there was a way I could set it so that:
4 = left view
5 = front view
6 = right view
8 = top view
2 = bottom view
3 = perspective view.

# 2 21-06-2014 , 02:36 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
Doesn't seem to be the case. Maya doesn't differentiate between the two sets of number keys. You would have to overwrite, the smooth preview, shaded, shaded with texture hotkeys etc.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 3 21-06-2014 , 08:15 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
And I am totally up for that, because I find the current function. of the numbers to be less than useful for me. How can I overwrite them into the desired camera controls?

# 4 21-06-2014 , 12:41 PM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Go to windows/preferences/hot key edit...................dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 5 21-06-2014 , 03:57 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
Yes, I've gotten that far, but I don't know what to do from there:
1. What are the names of the commands that I'm looking for regarding making the camera angle change?
2. I don't really seem to get how I'm supposed to remove hot keys. I've been looking through the manual, and at a number of youtube videos and gained little insight. And that's why I'm asking on this board.

The manual says

Remove
Select a hotkey and click Remove to unassign the hotkey.

How do I do the whole "select a hotkey" bit? Because "remove" is always grayed out.


Last edited by Saijee; 21-06-2014 at 04:40 PM.
# 6 22-06-2014 , 03:31 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
Click on the assigned key in the "current hotkeys" box, selecting it will enable the remove button.

I would just go ahead and hit the new button and create hotkeys from scratch using this code. The example below switches the camera view to the right side.

Code:
// To act on it, we need to know what panel is currently active
string $panel = `getPanel -withFocus`;

// Try to change the bookmark ONLY if the active panel is a modeling view
if(`getPanel -typeOf $panel` == "modelPanel"){
	
	// you can change "-rightSide" flag to any of the appropriate bookmark flags
	// for the other hotkeys
	viewSet -rightSide `modelEditor -q -camera $panel`;
	
	
}
For the front/leftSide/back etc flags check the command page https://download.autodesk.com/global/...s/viewSet.html


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 7 23-06-2014 , 04:09 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
It works, thanks!

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads