Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 21-11-2014 , 10:35 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31

Insert edge loop or use crease tool?

Hi,

I've been modelling a while now but I have a question that I've been investigating for a while now, when hard surface modelling is it better to use edge loops to tighten corners and such or use the crease tool?

Take for example the images shown ( A & B), I'm making a monitor for a machine and although quite basic in design, the edge loops are piling up when tightening up corners for buttons and such.

I've always tended to stay away from creasing edges but then when I see wire frames for many models such as the Iron Man pictured ( C & D ) for example and it makes me wonder.

I know they may of used Zremesher in Zbrush or Topogun or other retopology tools to achieve this but still looks really clean for having no edge loops tightening the edges of the armour.

Are tight edge loops that important or is everyone just using zbrush and such for hard surface now?

Any input would be grateful...

Thanks

Attached Thumbnails

Ever Try, Ever Fail, No Matter. Try Again, Fail Again, Fail Better.
# 2 22-11-2014 , 12:58 PM
Jay's Avatar
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,287
Mendosa

good questions!! Hopefully I can help you out with some food for thought...

I would say to you to go with the edge loop method. The crease tool is good but right now its one of those things that a few companies are trying to implement into a production pipeline , this is in order to cut down on having to use edge loops. The issue with creasing is that the history of the crease isnt kept if you have to get an obj of the object or model in question, it gets dropped on export.

So in this instant its fair to say stick with the edge loop method. Practice how you loop because you can learn how to minimise loops. For example you may only want to 'sharpen up one or two edges but the loop will go around the model when its not needed in other areas, so learn how to terminate edges, ie: kiting. when the edges create a kite shape and you delete the unwanted edge in the middle. These are ideal for hardsurface as its not necessarily a deforming surface per say.

The Iron man model is clearly a very clean and well modelled mesh, Its loops are there and have been utilised very well. Its always good to keep you meshes as light as possible and add detail where you need it. But at the same time keeping everything optimised across the board for good uvs and textures and also to look good in the renders with having a lo res look (if thats whats needed)

Alot of the time , especially these days, Zbrush is used for concepting so the meshes are going to be super high and arent going to be at all useable for much. Alot of the time we do remesh but now with the model toolkit in maya its easier than using the remesher in zbrush because the result is dictated by you and not an algorythm that may give you some weirdness in your mesh. So dont rely on remeshing alone. It has good and bad points. By all means use it to maybe get a cleaner mesh, but be aware it wont be spot on, it wont give you a perfect, production ready mesh out of the box, it will get you a certain way, but chances are you will still need to go in and give it a tickle.

I hope this helps you out a little. If you have any more queries please feel free to ask

cheers
Jay

# 3 22-11-2014 , 10:41 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Thanks for the coprehensive response Jay, yeah I can understand what you mean about zremesher, I still have to get used to the Maya re-topologising tools, usually use Topogun myself. I will continue to use edge looping so, as I export most models I make and college and stuff. So I'm assuming its safe to say that Iron Man mesh has been re-topologised to be as clean as it is..


Ever Try, Ever Fail, No Matter. Try Again, Fail Again, Fail Better.
# 4 22-11-2014 , 10:55 PM
Jay's Avatar
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,287
It may well have been built cleanly in the first place...

cheers
Jay

# 5 23-11-2014 , 02:30 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Daym Jay, you so wise, also digging your artwork big time, thanks for the help


Ever Try, Ever Fail, No Matter. Try Again, Fail Again, Fail Better.
# 6 06-12-2014 , 03:10 PM
Skalman's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 293
I use bevel for edges, in some cases i insert edge loops twice beside an edge, ive tried creasing, but i find it hard to preview it as the edges get kinda "dark" when you smooth it, and i can have more control of the topology with when edges are bevel'd, instead of having "hidden" topology by creasing. thats just my opinion though


dude nice model btw! user added image


20 year old guy from Sweden



Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman


https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
# 7 09-12-2014 , 02:04 PM
nickynacky's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 83
does anyone know of any tutorials on kiting - i googled '3d modeling techniques kiting' but no luck - its exactly what I also need to learn.
nicky.

# 8 09-12-2014 , 02:09 PM
Jay's Avatar
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,287
If you look on the ironman image theres a 'kited' poly a couple of polys over from the disc in the chest, Its basical a quad thats been made to adapt to a corner or rotated for better edge flow and adjusted, so it can end up looking like a kite.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads