SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-04-2003, 07:25 AM   #1
Forum_snowboarder33
Registered User
 
Forum_snowboarder33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Sound in Maya?

I am trying to add sound to a project that i am doing. I made a tacometer for a car, and i have a car reving in an audi file. I need to put it into maya so i can animate the tac... any tips on how?
__________________
-- Why is it snowing rain --
AIM: SnowboarderCF
Forum_snowboarder33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2003, 07:28 AM   #2
Forum_snowboarder33
Registered User
 
Forum_snowboarder33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Never mind, i just got it. I just drag and dropped the audi file right onto the animation slider... lol
how would i get rid of it if i wanted to?
__________________
-- Why is it snowing rain --
AIM: SnowboarderCF
Forum_snowboarder33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2003, 07:32 AM   #3
Forum_snowboarder33
Registered User
 
Forum_snowboarder33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

go figure... i just figured that out too. Since i seem to have it all figured out.. is there any advice for syncing the sounds?
__________________
-- Why is it snowing rain --
AIM: SnowboarderCF
Forum_snowboarder33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2003, 07:59 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

patience.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2003, 08:06 AM   #5
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Lots of patience.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 02:00 AM   #6
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Mind explaining how you did all this? I can drop audio files onto the slider, but can't hear anything when I play. How do you get rid of the audio files if you don't want them anymore too? Also, can you put any kind of audio file in there?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 02:07 AM   #7
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Ok nevermind. Figured it out. What I really need to know is how to convert an audio file to aiff or wav format. Any suggestions?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 03:43 AM   #8
Forum_snowboarder33
Registered User
 
Forum_snowboarder33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

quicktime should do it the easiest
__________________
-- Why is it snowing rain --
AIM: SnowboarderCF
Forum_snowboarder33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 02:36 PM   #9
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

How can you convert files with QT? I have it, but can't find a way to convert. I copy tracks from CD's to my computer through Windows Media Player, so the files are .wma. I have Video Mach which can convert audio and video files to various other formats, but .wma is not supported. I would like to convert to .wav if at all possible.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 06:18 PM   #10
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Hey darkware, anything your trying to conver they have a program on the web for .. hell you can turn avi to gif if you wanted! Haha. Anyways, go onto download.com first of all and search for what you are looking for... so for example if you are looking to convert wav to wma.. then search for.. wav to wma, or wav to wma converter. If its not on there then go to google.com and search for the exact same 2 things.. not once have i not found a program to do the job. Also, you have to take into account that if your doing audio.. you cannot go from something like wav to mod or midi, just doesnt work.
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 07:06 PM   #11
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Windows Media Player 9 gives me everything I ever needed for conversion

...and it's free... unlike the Quicktime Pro app.

(However, I think QT's GUI is prettier. hehe..)
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 07:26 PM   #12
Forum_snowboarder33
Registered User
 
Forum_snowboarder33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

alright... i have a problem. I sync the sounds to the animation in maya, yet when i render, and try to put the sound onto the movie, they don't match.. they are off by 2 seconds. In maya, it plays it as a 10 second movie (260 frames) but when i render, it comes out as a 8 second movie. So the sound doesn't work.. since it is a 10 second sound.. im stuck.. am i running at too many fps for the render or soemthing?
__________________
-- Why is it snowing rain --
AIM: SnowboarderCF
Forum_snowboarder33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 07:26 PM   #13
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well, I have tried three applications so far and none of them work. Mike recommended an mp3 converter, but it only converts mp3's. Another friend of mine recommended Winamp, but I see no option to convert files. I searched for an application myself that could convert wma's to wav's (http://www.mp3towma.com/) but for some reason it doesn't work. I get a window saying the conversion was succesful, the folder the wav is supposed to be in pops up, but there is no wav file. *shrugs*

I don't have dsl, so downloading all this stuff takes a while. I'm also finding out that my infinite patience isn't as infinite as I thought...
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2003, 09:11 PM   #14
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

forum - if you're making this for video, you'd more than likely want 30 fps, making a 10 second movie 300 frames.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2003, 02:29 AM   #15
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Rage, didn't see your post until now. I just downloaded Windows Media Player 9, but can't figure out how to convert like you said. In the options, you can change what format your tracks copy as from CD's to your computer, but only wma's are in the dropdown list. There doesn't seem to be any convertion thing. You... *cringes* ...don't have to have premium services do you?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com

Last edited by Darkware : 28-04-2003 at 03:30 AM.
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.