SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Rendering Particles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2006, 03:34 PM   #1
TAZINLWFL
Registered User
 
TAZINLWFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Palm, FL
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Rendering Particles

Hi Everyone!
I'm a newbie, and haven't really been using Maya long. (still flipping through my manual to find simple things)

BUT
I have a question.
I read that you'd have to render a scene without any particles first, then use a composite method to add the particles later. I'm using mental ray to render the "ball" and the water particles dont show up. I used Hardware render mode to render the particles, but the quality is not nearly as good as the mental ray. I noticed an option for the particles called "mental ray" in the attributes of the particles and under "flags" default selected was "Derive from Maya". Deselecting this allows the other options to be edited like "visible" etc. Will this allow the particles to be rendered in mental ray batch renders?

Thanks for the speedy response!

Tim
TAZINLWFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 04:09 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I dont think so.

I think the quality of the hardware render varies on your graphics card (I might be wrong).

You should be compostiting your hardware rendered particles toghther with your scene using, say photoshop or after effects.

What are you trying to do? As you might ber able to get away with software rendered particles for water, which will render in mental ray.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 04:14 PM   #3
TAZINLWFL
Registered User
 
TAZINLWFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Palm, FL
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PLEASE

I would love to see it all in one shot.
What is the method for software renderable particles?
I went through the steps (as shown in a "Learning Maya" book)
and they said to use hardware then composite, and going through the step for adding particles, i never saw an option for "render with software"...

Its simply a "Wet Sponge Ball" that bounces towards a camera. The lighting is fairly basic, and there arent many particles coming off of the ball. I'll post a frame.

Thanks
Tim

Last edited by TAZINLWFL : 04-08-2006 at 04:17 PM.
TAZINLWFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 04:22 PM   #4
TAZINLWFL
Registered User
 
TAZINLWFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Palm, FL
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here's a frame
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bouncy ball41.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	9.9 KB
ID:	30064  
TAZINLWFL is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.