Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-12-2006, 10:54 AM   #1
nirzvulun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default export avi

all i want to do is ---avi-----
nirzvulun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2006, 01:40 PM   #2
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Open the render settings window and choose AVI from the Image Format dropdown menu. When you batch render the necesarry frames they will be formatted as AVI.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2006, 10:40 PM   #3
Xander-0
Registered User
 
Xander-0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: This Place
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

yes, you can render out as an .avi, but its a terrible idea. Usually, its better reccommended to render out as individual frames and string them together, for at least a couple of reasons;
1) the .avi will be huge. The initial file will not be compressed whatsoever. This can make it hard for some systems to deal with.
2) If something happens to your machine that interrupts the render process, your file will be junk. Unless an .avi is completely rendered out, it won't work. With a long-rendering file this becomes a huge issue. With frames, if the render gets interrupted, you will only have one frame to redo, for a fraction of the time taken.
my personal reccomendation is to go with stills. What format you use is a bit of a personal preference, after weighing technical needs, but in most cases I use .jpeg or .png (although I've seen targa and tiff mentioned around here).
__________________
Book Wise

http://X4nd5r.deviantart.com
Xander-0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2006, 04:54 AM   #4
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quite right Xander-O,

I should have mentioned that it was a daft idea to render out as a movie instead of just answering the question.

Cheers,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2006, 09:32 AM   #5
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well i've gotta add my two cents and say that using jpg isn't all that good of an idea because maya's jpeg compression is pretty lousy, and you tend to get artifacting in your image(s).

plus, if you plan on compositing, jpeg doesn't support alpha channels.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.

Last edited by NeoStrider : 21-12-2006 at 09:34 AM.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.