Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-02-2003, 10:05 PM   #1
septentrio
Subscriber
 
septentrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dunkerque, Flanders, France
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default duplicating particles

I'm back with another question.

Do you remember the steamboat i'mworking on ? Now that i added smoke, i want to make them float together...that's why i grouped them...and when it comes to duplicate the group, it's ok for the boat but not for the particles system.

Does anyone have the clue of how it can be done ?

Thanks
__________________
Today man, tomorrow bird...i already have the plumage
septentrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 03:27 PM   #2
septentrio
Subscriber
 
septentrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dunkerque, Flanders, France
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe i should simply check "duplicate input nodes" in the duplicate options ?
__________________
Today man, tomorrow bird...i already have the plumage
septentrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 06:55 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Yep! Sorry for missing this post....
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 07:30 PM   #4
septentrio
Subscriber
 
septentrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dunkerque, Flanders, France
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Still doesn't work...really boring

When i duplicate then move the group, maya seems to duplicate the emitter but doesn't allow it to be moved...curious
__________________
Today man, tomorrow bird...i already have the plumage
septentrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 12:29 AM   #5
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I have had trouble with this as well. Another thing is duplicating fields. You can't just go duplicating fields for particles because you always have to select the particles, then choose the field and create it, which really stinks. Is there any way to connect a field to a particle after it has been created by chance? Somebody help us!
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 01:10 AM   #6
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

You can control which fields affects which particles with Window->Relationship Editors->Dynamic relationships. In the editor you select the particleShape in the left side and the right side you select the Fields (and other stuff) in the right side you want the particles in question to be affected by.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 01:15 AM   #7
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

As for the duplicating particles I think it's a bit more involved than just saying Edit->Duplicate... By duplicating the emitter does not duplicate the particles as well. They are two different things. Particles can be spawn even without an emitter by an expression for example... I believe you'd have to create a script node or something to duplicate the particles and their velocities as well as other attributes...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 09:06 AM   #8
septentrio
Subscriber
 
septentrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dunkerque, Flanders, France
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your answers, doctor Kbrown

I am totally noobie to dynamics and scripting, so can you point me the way ?

thanx
__________________
Today man, tomorrow bird...i already have the plumage
septentrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 11:51 AM   #9
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Well, I was not 100% right when I wrote the previous answers. Here's couple of things you could do:

1. You could duplicate the group with the "Duplicate Input Graph" option (not the same as "Duplicate Input Connections". This will duplicate everything in the group as well as the particle shape node. This way you get two emitters, two particle shapes etc and you can control them individually.

2. You could duplicate only the particle shape node with the instance option. This will create another particle node which will behave exactly like the first one.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!

Last edited by kbrown : 08-02-2003 at 11:55 AM.
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.