Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-10-2003, 10:43 PM   #16
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Exactly. I had a scene I started in 4.5 and it rendered fine untill I copied it a bunch of times to try to get it to error. I had like 15 the errors started and at 21 copies and then It finally went. What was you RAM usage when you got those errors? I noticed it would get up to like 1.5 and it would go. Batch render worked though without the errors and the RAM climbed to like 1.7 gig.
RickStefani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 04:23 AM   #17
dockode
Registered User
 
dockode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

try setting a limit for the job size... Unless your not using Mental Ray.... then I'm not sure what you do... hehe
__________________
...and that is how I saved the world.
dockode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 11:17 PM   #18
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

???. OK I will sound like I do not know what I am doing but what do you mean? I am using Mental Ray
RickStefani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 11:19 PM   #19
dockode
Registered User
 
dockode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

there is an area in Mental Ray Globals for setting the size limit of the Render Job. Like how much RAM Mental Ray can use or something like that.
__________________
...and that is how I saved the world.
dockode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 11:24 PM   #20
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There is a memory and performance option but they do not make sense to me what the numbers mean. If you know could you help me out. There is a Memory and acceleration that you can set at BPS or GRID or something like that and then some number. Not sure what they mean. There also is a memory area that is default at -1. Not sure what to set them to.
RickStefani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2003, 02:23 AM   #21
dockode
Registered User
 
dockode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well as far as the memory area is concerned leave virtual at -1 and set physical to whatever you think is reasonable given the amount of ram you have. Set it in megabytes. Like 512 or 256 or whatever just don't put the entire amount of RAM you have.

The BPS and GRID settings have to do with the renderer. Just leave them alone. I do anyway.

Hope it works for you.
__________________
...and that is how I saved the world.
dockode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.