Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-01-2005, 08:37 PM   #1
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default copying UVs - advice ???

Hi,

I have modelled, textured and already begun to animate a character. Although, Now, I have figured out a much better way to texture him.

I really dont want to have to go back and re-animate, plus I have used blendshapes for facial animation as well, to re-do that would be pretty annoying...

so, can anyone tell me if there is a way of setting out my UVs and just, re-applying them from one model to another? Or basically any method where I could apply new textures without losing animation etc...

Any help would be massively appreciated !
Geo.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 09:24 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

duplicate your model, UV map it like you want. select new, shift select old, Polygons > Transfer. Make sure UVs is set in the Transfer options.

This only works for identical duplicated objects.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 11:19 PM   #3
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hey,

thanks man, I'll give it a try! Hopefully, this will save me a load of grief!

Cheers dude,
Le Geo.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 04:30 PM   #4
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Just a query, when you say the models have to be the same, do they have to be exactly the same, or just topology wise?

Cheers,
Geo.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 05:38 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I've not had much luck with models that weren't duplicated from the original. Now, you can move vertices all you want with the duplicate, but when you add more or take away geometry, it doesn't want to work.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.