Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-10-2008, 10:49 PM   #1
huntaer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Scale Tool won't scale properly

This may seem like an odd problem and may have already been addressed, but I seem to have missed the thread and my patients is running thin (my professor hasn't responded to any of my emails).


Whenever I use my scaling tool and I wanna make the object smaller, it would refuse to do so. It would either stay the same size, or would continue to grow bigger even while moving my mouse towards the opposite side.
huntaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 01:40 AM   #2
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Go into the scale tool's settings and press reset tool. You probably have the check box with the 'step size' checked
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 10:13 AM   #3
huntaer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Which menu is that located under? I can't seem to find it in the search option on the help website... (who the hell designed that thing anyway?)
huntaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 10:53 AM   #4
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Double clicking on the scale tool will open the tool settings window...
It's not that hard once you get used to it
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 11:34 AM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Or if you don't have the tool box part of the UI showing you can just hit that icon on the top right of the screen and there's the long way, Windows>Settings/Preferences>Tool Settings. Personally I slapped a hotkey on it.

Edit: Forgot image :

Last edited by GecT : 24-10-2008 at 11:49 AM.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 05:14 PM   #6
huntaer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Originally posted by GecT
Or if you don't have the tool box part of the UI showing you can just hit that icon on the top right of the screen and there's the long way, Windows>Settings/Preferences>Tool Settings. Personally I slapped a hotkey on it.

Edit: Forgot image :
It works now, thanks a bunch!

BennyK - Thanks for the assistance.
huntaer is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.