Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-03-2009, 07:40 AM   #1
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default add groups in layers

Hello everybody,

I am very new to maya and trying to learn from the book'Mastering maya 8.5'

Problem:

I create two polygon primitives for eg. cylinder and cone. I group them together and call it say 'AbcGroup'. I then create a layer and name it "AbcLayer'.

Then i open outliner window , select the group'Abcgroup' then right click on'AbcLayer' and then select 'Add selected objects.

Now in the outliner when i select the group name i can see the layer name in the inputs in Chanel box. When i select individual objects that are part of the group like cylinder then i dont see the layer name in the inputs of cylinder. Same for the cone.

I believe when i select the object i should be able to see the layer name in the inputs of that object.

Please help me.

Regards
Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 01:31 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Thats perfectly normal, the two primatives are children of the parent group node and will therefore inherent attributes. For example if turn the visability of the group node off both the children will also become invisible.

Anything you want to do with your layer will function as expected.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 04:34 PM   #3
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Hi,

Thank you Lauriepriest for giving your valuable time and for the prompt reply.

I understand what are you trying to say. But i have got stuck at one point in this book' Mastering maya 8.5'.

If you have this book can you try the lesson in page 68 under Nodes and Hypergraph.

When i try this lesson on my computer i get the hypergraph view as shown in figure 2.17 but when i select the object 'HammerHead' and then click on inputoutput connections i dont see the node 'HammerLayer' as shown in figure 2.18.

I have spent almost 4 complete days to find out where i am missing.

If i open the readymade scenes 'step3.mb' provided in the cd that comes with the book then i see the inputoutput connections as shown in the book.

Please try if u have this book. I dont know anybody who can help me other than this forum.

Thanks and regards,
Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:36 AM   #4
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

The person has probably just selected the objects individually and not as a group and then added them to the layer. Dont worry about followings books like these to the detail.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:55 AM   #5
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Thanks a ton Lauriepriest

Appreciate ur help

Thanks again

Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.