Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-07-2010, 04:39 PM   #1
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Extrude Edge faces 0n/off switched

Hi. Using Maya 2009 on Precision 690. 8 gigs RAM. OS: XPx64

While I was working on a new mesh yesterday at some point the default settings for the Extrude Edge Tool switched from "Faces Together: On" to "Off".

Anyone know how I can reset the default settings on this tool?

It's really slowing down my workflow to have to change the faces together setting to "on" each time I use the tool.

Thanks,
Tristan
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:12 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Hmm, that's odd... does it turn back off every time you use the tool, or every time you open up Maya? I'm assuming you've double checked that the Keep Faces Together is checked before you use the tool?

If you hit undo for the extrudes a couple times it'll undo your changes to the Keep Faces Together; long shot, but that might be causing the problem?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:43 PM   #3
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi. It's every time I use the tool. First I re-launched Maya, then restarted my PC trying to fix this.

I have to manually change faces together to on ( Faces Together > click #1 to switch to On) every time I use the tool

I can only guess I somehow changed the default settings for this tool somehow and I can't find any way to set it back. Anyone know how to access the default settings for this tool?

T
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:23 AM   #4
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

New Wrinkle: OK, Now I extracted some faces from the mesh -- Togle Select Faces > Mesh > Extract.

The extracted mesh has all the faces separated following the extraction. This must be a larger issue than just these specific tools. Anyone with any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
 
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:28 AM   #5
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I found the problem. In the Edit Mesh window the first item is "keep faces Together" which is either checked or unchecked. I must have somehow unchecked it yesterday without even knowing it existed as a general setting.

Thanks guys.

T
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 09:37 PM
Keep faces on Sircharles Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 07-12-2010 01:20 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.