SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / can I run maya on 2 machines?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-02-2006, 04:35 PM   #1
micgaz
Subscriber
 
micgaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default can I run maya on 2 machines?

Hello all,

please forgive me, I am sure this is a question you have had before. I did try a search or ten and couldn't find an answer. Does it work like photoshop, where you are OK as long as you don't run them at the same time?
I have Maya 7.0 complete.
Thanks,
mic

Last edited by micgaz : 15-02-2006 at 04:47 PM.
micgaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 04:41 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

if you have a hardware dongle you can, or if you've got two licences
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 05:14 PM   #3
micgaz
Subscriber
 
micgaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Gster,

those are windows only aren't they? I run maya on a Mac.

mic
micgaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 05:18 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hmmmm???

Thats for windows, not too sure about the mac, but i'd guess its the same for both platforms as its the software that dictates how it's licenced
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 05:35 PM   #5
micgaz
Subscriber
 
micgaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Me again,

I think you require a port for those that doesn't exist on a Mac.

mic
micgaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 06:41 PM   #6
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

You stilll have to have a license to run Maya on a Mac. If you have a hardware dongle (a portable licence) you can run it on more than one machine, but only on one machine at a time (the one that the dongle is plugged into), I think it plugs into a USB port. If you use a software license you need to purchase one for each machine you are running Maya on.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 06:56 PM   #7
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Maya 7 for OS X now has a USB dongle licensing option. Contact Autodesk support for more information.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 07:02 PM   #8
micgaz
Subscriber
 
micgaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks 'mat,

I just want to clarify that I have a legitimate licence to use Maya, dont want anyone thinking I'm pirating.

Ok, so if I needed 2 dongles, it would probably be cheaper to get another licence as I am an educational customer.

Thankyou for explaining this to me. It is important to me that I behave legally.

mic
micgaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 07:04 PM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If your educational just ask your vendor, it might be different as alias do a academic version thats a lot cheaper that the full version
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.