SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-01-2007, 09:26 PM   #1
mrSimon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mental ray shader UV issues

I'm having a major problem with Mental Ray right now. I'm working on my final university project, and have made a 3d character. Originally made up of 5 separate objects with separate UV maps, then combined into one.

Each frame individually is rendered absolutely fine in Maya when I click the render button.

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/7...alworlddb6.jpg

However, when I send it to the batch editor, I get this.

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/3078/errbr6.jpg

Does anybody know why this is?
mrSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2007, 09:44 PM   #2
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

What version of Maya/ MR?

Are you using complete, unlimited, educational version?

When you say you "send it to the batch editor", do you mean you run the batch render command or are you sending it to a render farm?

The background behind the character... is it 3d, an image plane, comped?

Are you using render layers?

Are you using render IBL?

What image format are you rendering to?

You results are very screwy so I'm just trying to get an idea of what you're doing.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 04:52 AM   #3
mrSimon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What version of Maya/ MR?
This is Maya 8, Mental Ray 3.5.1.2

Are you using complete, unlimited, educational version?
This is complete.

When you say you "send it to the batch editor", do you mean you run the batch render command or are you sending it to a render farm?
Batch render command

The background behind the character... is it 3d, an image plane, comped?
Its an image plane I used as a guide. I removed this for the final render.

Are you using render layers?
Currently no, but I will eventually.

Are you using render IBL?
Yes

What image format are you rendering to?
Maya IFF
mrSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 11:32 AM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

So the only diff between your in Maya render and your batch render is the image plane I guess. Does it render properly in Maya without the image plane?

I'm not a big fan of Maya's IBL. Not sure if they got it fixed in Maya 8, but it causes all sorts of problems in Maya 7 and is almost useless with render layers. I could easily see it being the cause of your problems but I have no idea why. Try removing it and seeing if your renders start looking the same in Maya and with the batch renderer.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 08:31 PM   #5
mrSimon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dann
Try removing it (RE: IBL Lighting) and seeing if your renders start looking the same in Maya and with the batch renderer.
I'm afraid I cant do that. I've spent a considerable amount of time and money towards this major factor in my project, which is now marked for assessment.

I'll find a solution elsewhere.
mrSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 08:43 PM   #6
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

OK, I wasn't sugguesting you ditch your IBL, just do a test to see if that's the problem. Eliminate all possible problems and eventually you'll figure out the culprite.

Good luck.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2007, 07:08 AM   #7
mrSimon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, sorry for assuming the wrong thing. My bad :headbang:

I've fixed this in the end, by simply making a new shader. Source images are just the ones I used matched up all in one file, and I resized existing UV's using the selection constraints tool.

Only took an hour or so to fix in the end. But still, mental ray is a little annoying
mrSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2007, 08:00 AM   #8
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

congrats on the fix, and yes, Mental Ray is a pain in the ...
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.