SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-04-2007, 01:02 PM   #1
glennlucas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Uk
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Apache Modeling 1

ok so im having a few problems on the apache model I hope the pictures I provide help. the basic issue is when i extrude faces it creates new ones.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	149
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	34211  
glennlucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 01:21 PM   #2
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

er.. care to expand on your problem?? when you extrude it should create new faces.

also, try to keep your images 640 x 480 and you might want to keep your questions under one post rather than create a new thread.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 01:26 PM   #3
glennlucas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Uk
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes in the tutorial of this lesson 2 21 mins (ish) the extrude pushes all the faces down and in mine go out.
glennlucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 01:29 PM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

hmmm... i haven't done that tutorial, but you might want to try changing the rotation axis - just click the little blue circle. If not, post a pic from the vid of what it's supposed to look like.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 01:35 PM   #5
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

i think you need to either freeze transformations or delete history, sounds like a double transformation problem.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 01:45 PM   #6
glennlucas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Uk
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah i did both of those im sending a picture of how it looks on the lesson.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1.png
Views:	137
Size:	20.0 KB
ID:	34213  
glennlucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 01:49 PM   #7
glennlucas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Uk
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

or not as it wont send from windows movie player.
glennlucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 01:51 PM   #8
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

just do a print screen.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 01:59 PM   #9
glennlucas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Uk
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes tried that but i get a blank image when posted here
glennlucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 02:05 PM   #10
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I think some programs won't let you take a snapshot like that unless you upgrade. I know that WinDVD is that way.

Edit: Maybe it has something to do with copyright?
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 02:07 PM   #11
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

you could try using real player - i'm pretty sure you can do a print screen from that. you could also try sending the instructor a pm.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 02:09 PM   #12
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Is your question about the two faces in back that run along the z axis?
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 02:13 PM   #13
glennlucas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Uk
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no its about the 2 faces created in between the shaded faces, basically on the dvd this doesnt happen on the extrude face. ive pm the instructor just waiting a relpy. ive tried deleting history, freeze transforms and merging verticies prior to extruding but this doesnt help.
glennlucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 02:20 PM   #14
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I just looked at the rear picture on your other thread and I THINK I know exactly what you're refering to now. I have the same issue as well and I'm curious if there's a solution. Even with my Keep Faces Setting Checked, I still get those extra faces when I extrude inward.

Edit: or outward on an adjoining face.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2007, 03:23 AM   #15
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Not quite sure what the question is all about but I have a gut feeling that your normals might be screwed up (some pointing in and some pointing out). You can check this with Display>Polygongs>Face Normals. If this is the case then try Normals>Set to face and/or Normals>Conform and then try extruding again.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apache WIP andrew_sorensen Work In Progress 9 23-12-2010 09:22 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.