SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Scene composition - programs to use

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
25-08-2009, 02:58 PM   #1
Boborish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Scene composition - programs to use
Hello,
Im new to Maya and 3D graphics in general (except of modeling, but not in Maya again) so Id like to ask a pretty basic question about composition. Lets say I want to make a scene (where some people are chating for example) and I want to put some hills and mountains in the back. So - how do I do this? I guess it cant be done in Maya alone, because I just tried to make a plane of size around 500x500 and it already had problems to render it. So is the distant environment made in another program (like Vue, Terragen or...)? If so, which one is a good choice? Are those mountains inserted into the scene as 2D sprite, or are they somehow imported into Maya (as 3-dimensional objects)?

To make this question more general - are multiple programs used for different parts of scene?
  Reply with quote
25-08-2009, 03:05 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Vue allows the intergraton of Vue scenes into Maya (or other programmes). Though the best thing to do would be to use a compositing application such as after effects, fusion or nuke, After effects would be the best bet as its part of theadobe suite and cheap when compared to the others.

This would allow the intergration of the mountains and the CGI parts.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
25-08-2009, 03:18 PM   #3
Boborish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks.
Is there a Personal Learning Edition of any of these programs? (I see Vue has, Maya has too (right now Im using 2010 trial), but cant find After Effects, nor Fusion or Nuke)
  Reply with quote
26-08-2009, 06:27 AM   #4
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
of Afx, there is no PLE version. u should be able to get a trial version of 30 days.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert Camera animation to scene anil10678 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 04-08-2015 01:00 AM
"Motion tracking" a static scene xgabrielx Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 04-12-2014 10:08 PM
trouble opening maya scene jooleyinboots Maya Technical Issues 2 03-02-2014 09:11 PM
Referencing Problem: Child Nodes misplaced on reloading of Parent Scene shekibobo Maya Technical Issues 1 20-05-2008 07:58 AM
Why Maya? haka Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 21 10-11-2007 11:14 PM