SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / why 4 edges only on polygons?

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
13-11-2005, 08:06 PM   #1
ZARDOZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
why 4 edges only on polygons?
why is it so important to have 4 edged polygons and not 3 or 5 or so?
is it like that with all 3d apps?

thanks
  Reply with quote
13-11-2005, 08:50 PM   #2
McWolfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
Most of the time, it has to do with smoothing algorithms. Some of these algorithms need 4-edge-polys to achieve predictable and good looking results. Other algorithms need 4-edge-vectors or poles (that is, a vector with 4 edges coming out from it) to get good results.

It also can get better deformations to use 4-edge polys, since the polys are a bit more evenly distrubuted in that case.

McWolfe
  Reply with quote
13-11-2005, 09:06 PM   #3
ZARDOZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
thanks
but is that the only reason? they can only couse a bad look?
so if it looks good with 3's and 5's and more's theres no problem?
  Reply with quote
14-11-2005, 02:10 AM   #4
junkyBob
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 203
I believe that someone in here before said that it has to also do with rendering. However, if you are transfering your models for gaming, you must follow what that program is designed for. Shockwave for example, I think it doesn't matter considering that the program was designed for most 3d modelers use MAX, but that doesn't mean that in some other game engines it is required to use quads. So thats why many of other people say it is good to use quads just so that it is all compatible. Meaning if you're rendering, or transfering it to a game, it will always be compatible using quads.

Also mcWolf is right about when it comes to unwrapping the uv's. The reason why, is that when you do get to uv mapping, you will notice that a great deal of tutorials will say that it is eaiser to apply the Maya's default checker pattern texture to your models. This is so that you can see where the destortions are located. So since the checker board pattern blocks are square, you would also like your uv's to be square. However, this isn't always possible, especially with organic modeling, but the basic idea is you are trying to get as minimal distortion as possible. Trust me it is not fun trying to unwrap a 5 sided polygon.

Furthermore, you also have to keep in mind that there are times that you do want three sided polys such as non-planar faces.
  Reply with quote
14-11-2005, 08:45 PM   #5
ZARDOZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
thanks alot
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding details to model without enough polygons? Skalman Maya Modeling 5 15-01-2014 11:52 AM
Battlestar Galactica Colonial Viper MKII ctbram Work In Progress 85 23-01-2010 07:48 AM
why have faces of 4 edges only? Chirone Simply Maya Tutorials 3 26-12-2007 11:33 PM
Merging Edges (Poly) technel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 16 25-09-2005 01:17 AM
Hard edges after smoothing polygons rbotteon Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 12 16-04-2004 06:28 AM