Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 02-02-2004 , 09:14 PM
ckyuk's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,336

Maya on Red Hat Linux

I'm thinking of switching my Windows PC over to Red Hat Linux. I've just been on the Alias site and it says they do Maya for Red Hat Linux. But i'm not sure what version to get. On the Alias site it says maya is compatible with Red Hat Linux 8 but the latest version is version 9. Will Maya work on version 9 and is anyone here using Linux?

# 2 02-02-2004 , 09:19 PM
roach105's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
I have used it on Red Hat nine and worked. The only issues I found are support for graphics is not at par in some cases as windows is and also the vector renderer is not available. Other than that I worked great. My main reason for not sticking with it was network setup issues I ran into but nothing to do with Maya.

# 3 02-02-2004 , 09:22 PM
ckyuk's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,336
I'll go and get version 9 then. Network issues aren't a problem for me as i'm not networked.

# 4 02-02-2004 , 09:39 PM
ckyuk's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,336
New question. Does anyone know a download manager that can resume downloads and handel files upto 650Mb? I'm using fresh download but the file is too big.

# 5 02-02-2004 , 10:13 PM
fredriksson's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
use any ftp client and get the (presumably ) ISO from a ftp instead user added image


Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=https://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
# 6 02-02-2004 , 10:50 PM
ckyuk's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,336
started downloading. it's going to take around 50 hours per disc on my 56k and there's 3 discs.

# 7 02-02-2004 , 10:56 PM
fredriksson's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
uh, get someone on broadband to mail you the CDs, that'd be faster user added image


Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=https://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
# 8 02-02-2004 , 11:07 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,225

Originally posted by ckyuk
started downloading. it's going to take around 50 hours per disc on my 56k and there's 3 discs.

Email me your address I'll mail you the Red Hat disks.

David.


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 9 02-02-2004 , 11:08 PM
ckyuk's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,336
EDIT


Last edited by ckyuk; 02-02-2004 at 11:11 PM.
# 10 06-02-2004 , 10:11 AM
SM Alumni
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
If you go to Red Hat 9 like I did you'll need to follow these instructions (copy and paste from somewhere else)-

You need to install all the compatability packages that redhat 9 comes with. Maya was compiled against older versions of the compiler, and redhat seems to think that everyone will just upgrade the moment redhat comes with something new user added image


Either way, install the compatibility packages (they're somewhere in the dist), and then you need to edit the maya startup script as such : (copied from a post by Mark Miller btw. =))



change this block :
----------------------------------
case Linux:
set lib = lib set lsFlags = '-l'
breaksw
----------------------------------



to the following :
----------------------------------
case Linux:
set lib = lib set lsFlags = '-l'
setenv LD_ASSUME_KERNEL 2.4.1 (your kernel version.)
breaksw
----------------------------------

Good luck and enjoy user added image

Darkon


Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
# 11 06-02-2004 , 10:25 AM
kbrown's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Here's a little something to keep in mind too. I received this mail from RedHat on Jan 14th:

Dear Red Hat Linux 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 and 8.0 customers,

In accordance with our errata support policy, the Red Hat Linux 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 and 8.0 distributions have now reached their errata maintenance end-of-life.

This means that we will no longer be producing security, bugfix, or
enhancement updates for these products. Red Hat Linux 9 reaches end of life on April 30, 2004.

As our product family grows and expands, we want to help you
migrate to the Red Hat solution that is right for you. Whether that's one of our Red Hat Enterprise Linux products or the Fedora Project, our Red Hat Linux Migration Resource Center can help you find the Red Hat solution best suited for your needs:

https://www.redhat.com/solutions/migration/rhl/

The errata support policy, as well as our current errata and advisories, are available from:

https://www.redhat.com/apps/support/errata/

--the Red Hat Network Team



Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
# 12 06-02-2004 , 10:33 AM
SM Alumni
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Very true! I'll be making a final Linux install disk right before 9 ends as well as backing up all the updates to that point. I'll give Fedora a look see but support is from the developers and not Red Hat.

Darkon


Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
# 13 06-02-2004 , 11:59 AM
vladimirjp's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
darkon btw, is there also a way to include the MR custom shader via a script.
maybe in the maya start up too.
it's a bit fustrating having to do it ecerytime i turn on my workstation.
p.s. don't forget about the fCheck thing.
thanxuser added image user added image user added image

btw, fedora project is much faster than RH, for home use or professional use. so i'm not too sad to see RH go user added image


Last edited by vladimirjp; 06-02-2004 at 12:04 PM.
# 14 09-02-2004 , 03:22 AM
SM Alumni
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Maybe I'll give Fedora a look see then, have you installed Maya on it?

Darkon


Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
# 15 09-02-2004 , 01:09 PM
vladimirjp's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
personally i have not. but i know other who have, and maya flies on it.
better openGL intergration .

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads