Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-08-2004, 10:11 PM   #1
toresn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cartoon dog tutorial (part 1)

Hi! I encounter my first problem @ about 5:10, where Kurt is about to form the dog's head.

When i try to form the sphere it gets very wierd, and not at all as smooth as Kurts (see image below).

What do i do wrong?

(btw. i'm running Maya unlimited v.6)


- toresn
Attached Files
File Type: mb cartoon_dog.mb (54.2 KB, 31 views)
toresn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 01:40 AM   #2
vagyb
Registered User
 
vagyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

try pressing the number 5 to shade (or press shading>smooth shade all) . i think thats wat u mean :s. (is this different for v6?). if this is not the problem make sure its nurb sphere.

if i didn't answer ur question could u plz try to give a bit more detail about the problem?


btw ur file did not open i think cuz i have maya 5.0.
vagyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 03:49 PM   #3
toresn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm talking about forming the sphere, draging a vertex using the move tool, that is. When doing this it doesn't form as beautifully as on the tutorial... understand my problem?


- toresn
toresn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 05:25 PM   #4
vagyb
Registered User
 
vagyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hm.. i think i understand what you say. i'm guessing the problem is when u select a vertice to move on side view by clicking on it it only takes the top vertice, there is another vertice under that vertice that u do not select therefore having bad results. instead of clicking on the vertice try clicking and draging to select it, this way it will select the vertice at the back too.
vagyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.