SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / plugins for architecture
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2002, 10:09 AM   #1
mariaprabhu
Registered User
 
mariaprabhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default plugins for architecture

guys i have taken the plunge and started with maya
help is neede where architectural pluggins for maya can be found help plzzzzzzz :banana:
mariaprabhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 03:24 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I'm not sure if there are plugins specifically for architecture... try any of the 3D sites out there, and most of them have a bunch of plugins. Hopefully, this site will soon.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 06:19 PM   #3
maroun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was also wondering if there are some architecture plugins or even an autocad .dwg import plugin... it would make thin gs easier.... did you know that Discreet is owned by Autodesk, which is the manufacturer of autocad??? I won't be surprised if there was no dwg importer!!!!!
maroun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 06:46 PM   #4
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I think the closest you can get is the .dxf importing. But there's nothing special about making architectural objects, it's just like anything else. You can make doors, windows, staircases, cornices, columns, arches, flying buttresses, anything you desire. You can set the measurements up the way you like as well.

Now if you want to work AutoCad style in Maya, work from the Top viewport and draw your layout on the grid, then place walls,etc. according to your layout. If you want to create buildings for pictues or animations Maya is fine, if you want to engineer buildings to be built you should use AutoCad.

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.